Review: Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson #8) by Darynda Jones

May 29, 2015 Review 1

Review: Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson #8) by Darynda JonesEighth Grave After Dark by Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson #8
Published by St. Martin's Press on May 19, 2015
Genres: Adult, Romantic, Urban Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 293
Source: Publicity Agency
Excerpt: Excerpt
Sexual Content: Explicit sex scene
Reviewed by: Kate
4 Stars

With twelve hellhounds after her, pregnant Charley Davidson takes refuge at the only place she thinks they can’t get to her: the grounds of an abandoned convent. But after months of being cooped up there, Charley is ready to pop. Both metaphorically and literally since she is now roughly the size of a beached whale. Fortunately, a new case has captured her attention, one that involves a murder on the very grounds the team has taken shelter upon. A decades-old murder of the newly-vowed nun she keeps seeing in the shadows is almost enough to pull her out of her doldrums.

Charley’s been forbidden to step foot off the sacred grounds. While the angry hellhounds can’t traverse the consecrated soil, they can lurk just beyond its borders. They have the entire team on edge, especially Reyes. And if Charley didn’t know better, she would swear Reyes is getting sick. He grows hotter with every moment that passes, his heat scorching across her skin every time he’s near, but naturally he swears he’s fine.

While the team searches for clues on the Twelve, Charley just wants answers and is powerless to get them. But the mass of friends they’ve accrued helps. They convince her even more that everyone in her recent life has somehow been drawn to her, as though they were a part of a bigger picture all along. But the good feelings don’t last for long because Charley is about to get the surprise of her crazy, mixed-up, supernatural life….

The Charley Davidson series is one of my favorite Urban Fantasy series. I love the humor, the complexities, and the mystery aspects. And EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK is a treat to long time readers of the series, offering answers to quite a few questions that have come up over the course of the story.

While there are some differences between this book and previous books in the series, for the most part, it follows the general formula. Though Charley is slightly less sarcastic and amusing in this book, the chemistry between Reyes and Charley, and Charley's ever-present wonderful sidekicks are all still around. And, while I usually complain about series skipping periods of time, it was pretty great that we skipped over most of Charley's pregnancy and living on the abandoned convent, because I think that would have been pretty boring. With EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK we get straight to the meat of the story.

Though at points EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK feels a little like a bridge between two storylines- the part before the baby is born and the part after, there's still a lot going on on its own. For instance, Charley still manages to find a mystery to solve on the abandoned convent grounds, and we get to see Cookie and Uncle Bob get married. Plus, when the action starts, it doesn't seem to stop, and it's one revelation after another- EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK is chock full of mythology and background that will satisfy long time readers of the series- after all, who doesn't want to know who Mr. Wong is? That being said, it may be hard to read this one as a stand-alone, if you're not already familiar with Charley and co.

EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK was one of those books that once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. I loved being able to spend the time with Charley and her rag-tag band of friends, and everything that happened was so satisfying that it made me happy I've stuck with the series this long. Now, with the cliff-hanger at the end, I can't wait until next year, when THE DIRT ON NINTH GRAVE comes out!

Series Titles:
  1. First Grave on the Right
  2. Second Grave on the Left
  3. Third Grave Dead Ahead
  4. Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet – 4/5
  5. Fifth Grave Past the Light – 4/5
  6. Sixth Grave on the Edge - 4/5
  7. Seventh Grave and No Body - 4/5
  8. Eighth Grave After Dark
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
  • For another series by the same author, try the Darklight series by Darynda Jones.
  • For another series with a main character who can talk to the dead, try the Alex Craft series by Kalayna Price.

One Response to “Review: Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson #8) by Darynda Jones”

  1. Nell Justice

    I’m really glad you liked this book. I did too, but there are some reviews out there that are less than complementary. I had another thought entirely about Mr. Wong. What’d you think?