Review: Dragos Takes a Holiday (Elder Races #6.5) by Thea Harrison

November 21, 2013 Review 2

Review: Dragos Takes a Holiday (Elder Races #6.5) by Thea HarrisonDragos Takes a Holiday by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #6.5
Published by Self Published on November 17, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Pages: 90
Source: Publisher
Excerpt: Excerpt
Sexual Content: Sex scenes.
Reviewed by: Julia
4 Stars

The Bermuda Triangle. Pirates. The Peanut. What could possibly go wrong?

Dragos Cuelebre needs a vacation. So does Pia, his mate. When the First Family of the Wyr head to Bermuda for some much needed R&R, it's no ordinary undertaking - and no ordinary weekend in the sun. Between hunting for ancient treasure buried beneath the waves and keeping track of their son, Liam—a.k.a. Peanut, whose Wyr abilities are manifesting far ahead of schedule—it’s a miracle that Pia and Dragos can get any time together.

They're determined to make the most of each moment, no matter who tries to get in their way. And did we mention pirates?

For fans of DRAGON BOUND and LORD’S FALL, passion, playfulness, and adventure abound in this Elder Races novella.

Thea Harrison's Elder Races series takes familiar romance and paranormal tropes to a level unparalleled in the genre, and DRAGOS TAKES A HOLIDAY is a great example of her prowess.  This story shows us a glimpse behind the Happily-Ever-After curtain, after Pia marries the powerful, sexy billionaire, after her child is born, after her ordinary life is exposed to the limelight.  This story takes place after all of the familiar "end of story" bookmarkers, yet the continuing romance of Pia and Dragos is as nuanced, electric, and entertaining as ever.

Though I love the paranormal details sprinkled throughout this story, like the challenges of raising a shifter toddler or Dragos using his magic to search for treasure, at it's heart this story is about young parents and the reality of life after marry the ultra-rich, famous heartthrob of your dreams.  Pia's relationship with the greater shifter community is hampered by the need to keep her nature secret. With the introduction of the Peanut, her precocious, powerful son, those secrets look like they'll be harder and harder to keep.  I found myself at the edge of my seat, imagining not only how this young family will grow and change, but also how Pia's relationship with her peers will develop.  All of her secrets are interwoven through Liam's nature, how can they remain hidden?

There are a few authors who offer novellas that are as intriguing and satisfying as their full length novels.  Patricia Briggs, Meljean Brook, and Ilona Andrews all come to mind in this category.  With this novella, Thea Harrison joins this list, offering a satisfying glimpse of the Elder Races world  and whetting my appetite for the next full length novel.  KINKED may tide me over for a bit, another re-read will also buy me some time, but eventually, nothing but Elder Races #7 will satisfy me.

Series Titles:
  1. Dragon Bound - 4/5
  2. Storm's Heart - 4/5
  3. Serpent's Kiss - 4/5
  4. Oracle's Moon - 5/5
  5. Lord's Fall - 4/5
  6. Kinked - 4/5
More Reviews: Similar Titles:

2 Responses to “Review: Dragos Takes a Holiday (Elder Races #6.5) by Thea Harrison”

  1. Gaby

    I’m a fan of this series, and I can’t wait to read it. I like that Thea keep writing about them, sometimes you just want more hehe