Source: Publisher

Divider

Release Day Review: Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3) by Jeaniene Frost

Release Day Review: Bound by Flames (Night Prince #3) by Jeaniene Frost

January 27, 2015 Review 1 ★★★

While I’m always eager to open up a new Jeaniene Frost, BOUND BY FLAMES just didn’t do it for me as much as previous installments of the Night Prince series or the Night Huntress series did. Part of this had to do with some of the content of the book, but part of it also was that this book felt very much like a middle of a series book. It dragged a little and though part of the conflict was resolved by the end of the book, some of it was left with a big giant cliff-hanger that didn’t feel necessary.

Divider

Review: There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

Review: There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

January 23, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

THERE WILL BE LIES isn’t the typical book you’d find here on All Things Urban Fantasy, but I felt it was one worth sharing. With this thriller, Nick Lake has written a book that is really difficult to review without spoilers, but I’ll do my best.

Divider

Review: Low Midnight (Kitty Norville #13) by Carrie Vaughn

Review: Low Midnight (Kitty Norville #13) by Carrie Vaughn

January 8, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

The book Kitty Norville fans (or maybe just me) have been waiting for, LOW MIDNIGHT tells a story from Cormac’s point of view. If you’re expecting a Kitty story, you’ll be disappointed. Kitty is still present, but this is basically Cormac taking the reins, and having his own adventure.

Divider

Review: Angel Bait (Angel Assassins, #0.5) by Tricia Skinner

Review: Angel Bait (Angel Assassins, #0.5) by Tricia Skinner

December 31, 2014 Review 3 ★★★★

ANGEL BAIT is a really fascinating story packed full of thrilling action and sensual romance. One issue I did have was my confusion over whether humans were aware of the paranormal creatures surrounding them or not. This issue really didn’t affect the story and it was cleared up pretty much. That aside, I loved the exploration of the nephilim (half angel half human) and the world in which they exist.

Divider

Review: Wolf’s Fall (Alpha Pack,#6) by J.D. Tyler

Review: Wolf’s Fall (Alpha Pack,#6) by J.D. Tyler

December 12, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

WOLF’S FALL presented a protagonist with PTSD due to a torture incident with a vampire which was a pretty interesting problem to load onto a character. While I don’t know to much about what PTSD is like I thought it portrayed the struggles of someone who has gone through a heavy trauma very well.

Divider

Review: Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

December 9, 2014 Review 7

‘ve only ever read one other Anita Blake novel and after reading that book I experienced the first time ever wanting to unread a story due to reason to long to write here. Since then, I’ve been hesitant to even pick up the first few books of this series which are supposed to be excellent according to everyone I’ve spoken to about the series. I decided to give JASON a chance as I was prepared for the random sexual encounters, throngs of characters, and over explaining of Anita’s relationships.

Divider

Review: Night Shift (Anthology)

Review: Night Shift (Anthology)

November 29, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

While anthologies aren’t normally my thing, the draw of the Kate Daniels and SPI Investigations stories were just too much for me to pass up in the case of NIGHT SHIFT. Luckily, the whole anthology was high caliber and well worth the read, with four outstanding stories that, though part of series in three of the four cases, manage to stand on their own.

Divider

Divider

Review: Black Dog (Hellhound Chronicles #1) by Caitlin Kittredge

Review: Black Dog (Hellhound Chronicles #1) by Caitlin Kittredge

November 11, 2014 Review 2 ★★★

BLACK DOG, book one in the Hellhound Chronicles, had some aspects I definitely was not a fan of. However, for the most part, BLACK DOG is a dark urban fantasy, packed to the brim with characters, plot lines and action, and is a wild ride through a new world Kittredge has created.

Divider

Divider