Source: NetGalley

Divider

Release Day Review: Magic Binds (Kate Daniels #9) by Ilona Andrews

Release Day Review: Magic Binds (Kate Daniels #9) by Ilona Andrews

September 20, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

Have you ever read a book and wanted to immediately start it over again or find a way to get the next book even though it isn’t completed yet and your T.A.R.D.I.S. is always broken? That happens to me every time I finish one of the books in the Kate Daniels series. Such is the disappointment of traveling through time in a linear fashion.

Divider

Review: City of Wolves by Willow Palecek

Review: City of Wolves by Willow Palecek

September 13, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

CITY OF WOLVES is an enjoyable novella. I loved the main character, the sense of humor, and the world building, but I felt there were some aspects that were unnecessary and distracting, something which is all the more obvious in a novella length piece, where every word counts.

Divider

Divider

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

August 30, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

CURIODDITY starts a bit slowly, like a strange roller coaster. It’s a sluggish start, if well written, highlighting just how boring Wil’s life is at the beginning of the book. Luckily, we quickly nosedive into the action when it starts. I read the first thirty percent of the book in a few days, and the rest in a frenzied seventy-five minutes of madness.

Divider

Review: Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper Romance #1) by Nancy Campbell Allen

Review: Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper Romance #1) by Nancy Campbell Allen

August 22, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

Anybody who has read this blog for any amount of time knows how much I am in love with fairy tale retellings. And my favorite are always Beauty and the Beast. So when BEAUTY AND THE CLOCKWORK BEAST showed up on Netgalley, I knew I had to read it! While I had some issues with the beginning of BEAUTY AND THE CLOCKWORK BEAST, it did manage to improve, and by the end of the book I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Divider

Release Day Review:  The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

Release Day Review: The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

August 16, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Halfway through reading THE SIGHT I lost track of who wrote this really well written and interesting book. I blame the heat this summer for that. There is really no connection to Chloe Neill’s beloved Chicagoland Vampires series and that is entirely a great thing as it shows the versatility and creativity it takes to create not one but two solidly built worlds.

Divider

Review: Waking The Bear (Shifter Wars #1), by Kerry Adrienne

Review: Waking The Bear (Shifter Wars #1), by Kerry Adrienne

August 10, 2016 Review 2 ★★★

I tend to be a bit of a dork about puns and double-entendres, and WAKE THE BEAR definitely had funny moments that were a welcome respite from some of the dark characters. It was a bit short, and the main villain was one-dimensional to the point of being annoying, but the main characters were fun and their interactions were the glowing part of the novel.

Divider

Review: Bound by the Night by Megan Hart

Review: Bound by the Night by Megan Hart

August 1, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

Megan Hart has been a long time favorite for me in contemporary romance. Raw, visceral chemistry married to a realism that manages to intrigue and haunt. Seeing her name on a Paranormal Romance was an exciting treat, but I found that the realism Hart brings to romance did not carry over to believable “paranormal”.

Divider

Review: Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Review: Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

July 28, 2016 Review 1 ★★★★

Melissa F. Olson has become one of my insta-buy authors. I haven’t read anything of hers I haven’t liked, and NIGHTSHADES is no exception to that. NIGHTSHADES is a gritty police procedural in an awesome urban fantasy world.

Divider

Early Review: Imprudence (The Custard Protocol #2) by Gail Carriger

Early Review: Imprudence (The Custard Protocol #2) by Gail Carriger

July 18, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

As we start IMPRUDENCE, the second book in The Custard Protocol, we find Prudence has reached her majority and is now a full grown “ish” adult ready to taste some independence. Unfortunately she now has no outside protection against people who want to kill her and as a result of her actions in the previous book she’s on the bad side of the Queen.

Divider