Source: NetGalley

Divider

Review: Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper Romance #1) by Nancy Campbell Allen

Review: Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper Romance #1) by Nancy Campbell Allen

August 22, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

Anybody who has read this blog for any amount of time knows how much I am in love with fairy tale retellings. And my favorite are always Beauty and the Beast. So when BEAUTY AND THE CLOCKWORK BEAST showed up on Netgalley, I knew I had to read it! While I had some issues with the beginning of BEAUTY AND THE CLOCKWORK BEAST, it did manage to improve, and by the end of the book I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Divider

Release Day Review:  The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

Release Day Review: The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

August 16, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Halfway through reading THE SIGHT I lost track of who wrote this really well written and interesting book. I blame the heat this summer for that. There is really no connection to Chloe Neill’s beloved Chicagoland Vampires series and that is entirely a great thing as it shows the versatility and creativity it takes to create not one but two solidly built worlds.

Divider

Review: Waking The Bear (Shifter Wars #1), by Kerry Adrienne

Review: Waking The Bear (Shifter Wars #1), by Kerry Adrienne

August 10, 2016 Review 2 ★★★

I tend to be a bit of a dork about puns and double-entendres, and WAKE THE BEAR definitely had funny moments that were a welcome respite from some of the dark characters. It was a bit short, and the main villain was one-dimensional to the point of being annoying, but the main characters were fun and their interactions were the glowing part of the novel.

Divider

Review: Bound by the Night by Megan Hart

Review: Bound by the Night by Megan Hart

August 1, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

Megan Hart has been a long time favorite for me in contemporary romance. Raw, visceral chemistry married to a realism that manages to intrigue and haunt. Seeing her name on a Paranormal Romance was an exciting treat, but I found that the realism Hart brings to romance did not carry over to believable “paranormal”.

Divider

Review: Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Review: Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

July 28, 2016 Review 1 ★★★★

Melissa F. Olson has become one of my insta-buy authors. I haven’t read anything of hers I haven’t liked, and NIGHTSHADES is no exception to that. NIGHTSHADES is a gritty police procedural in an awesome urban fantasy world.

Divider

Early Review: Imprudence (The Custard Protocol #2) by Gail Carriger

Early Review: Imprudence (The Custard Protocol #2) by Gail Carriger

July 18, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

As we start IMPRUDENCE, the second book in The Custard Protocol, we find Prudence has reached her majority and is now a full grown “ish” adult ready to taste some independence. Unfortunately she now has no outside protection against people who want to kill her and as a result of her actions in the previous book she’s on the bad side of the Queen.

Divider

Review: Mythic, Volume 1 (Mythic #1-8), by Phil Hester, John McCrea

Review: Mythic, Volume 1 (Mythic #1-8), by Phil Hester, John McCrea

July 16, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

The best part of MYTHIC, VOLUME 1 was the prologue; the rest of the book didn’t quite keep up with the action and tone. Still, it had some bright moments where it twisted mythology and religion into new and surprising shapes.

In a world where scientists can refuse to die (and turn into ghosts because they don’t believe in anything enough to move on) and demons can possess peaceful rock creatures, it’s a good thing Mythic is there there to police things.

Divider

Review: The Transference Engine by Julia Verne St. John

Review: The Transference Engine by Julia Verne St. John

July 8, 2016 Review 1 ★★★

I think a lot of readers like to imagine a world in which they could own their own cafe/bookstore, or maybe I’m just weird thinking that would be cool. But that’s what made me pick up THE TRANSFERENCE ENGINE, a story about someone who owns her own cafe/bookstore in a steampunk world sounded pretty awesome. Few books get me as interested in them as THE TRANSFERENCE ENGINE did just by reading the synopsis, however, it wasn’t quite as good as I wanted it to be.

Divider

Review: Billionaire in Wolf’s Clothing (Billionaire Wolf #1), by Terry Spears

Review: Billionaire in Wolf’s Clothing (Billionaire Wolf #1), by Terry Spears

July 8, 2016 Review 0 ★★

This book was almost entertaining, but between the blatant use of romance tropes and the saccharine quality of the plot with made my stomach turn, I was annoyed with it by the time I put it down. If this was the first paranormal romance book I’d ever read, I would have never picked up another.

Werewolves not necessary to this story, and it would have probably been an okay suspense romance without it – in fact, it probably would have been better for me. The key mythology issue was so badly introduced that I didn’t really understand any of the characters’ motivations for the first half of the book.

Divider

Divider