Source: NetGalley

Divider

Review: Shards of Hope (Psy-Changeling #14) by Nalini Singh

Review: Shards of Hope (Psy-Changeling #14) by Nalini Singh

August 27, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

For quite awhile the Arrows have been a group of characters who I’ve been interested in learning more about as I’ve read the Psy-Changling series. It was really neat seeing the interior lives of the Arrows. Aden, one of the Arrows who has been ‘hanging’ around the series for a few books now is finally given a story in SHARDS OF HOPE and it’s a story filled with sadness, pain, loneliness, and as the title aptly says a shard of hope.

Divider

Release Day Review:  Beauty and the Werewolf (San Francisco Wolf Pack #2) by Kristin Miller

Release Day Review: Beauty and the Werewolf (San Francisco Wolf Pack #2) by Kristin Miller

August 25, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

BEAUTY AND THE WEREWOLF is a charming paranormal romance filled with much romantic and family angst. It is an even paced story and I enjoyed the werewolf mythos set up in this story. One issue I did have was the fact that Isabelle’s dad seems to be intent on her marrying someone from her pack regardless of the fact that the mythos sets up that if you don’t find your mate you will die after 300 years.

Divider

Review: Dragon Fall (Black Dragons #1) by Katie MacAlister

Review: Dragon Fall (Black Dragons #1) by Katie MacAlister

August 17, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

One of the aspects I enjoyed about DRAGON FALL was the world building. I love seeing different takes on dragon lore and this one was especially unique.The story follows Aoife as she begins to discover this strange new world filled with dragons except of course she discovers it at a time when there is the greatest conflict and danger for the dragons.

Divider

5Bat! Review: Kitty Saves the World (Kitty Norville #14) by Carrie Vaughn

5Bat! Review: Kitty Saves the World (Kitty Norville #14) by Carrie Vaughn

August 11, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★★

It’s always a bittersweet affair when one of your favorite series comes to a close. I’ve been listening to the Kitty Norville series for the past three years, so I haven’t been following the series since its inception, and it feels like it’s over too soon. That being said I was worried that when Carrie Vaughn introduced the idea of “the long game” that the series would start to drag or become repetitive. I did not ever find that too be the case, and I feel that KITTY SAVES THE WORLD is the perfect ending to such an amazing series.

Divider

5bat! Review: Dark Ascension (Generation V #4) by M. L. Brennan

5bat! Review: Dark Ascension (Generation V #4) by M. L. Brennan

August 10, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★★

Starting this review has been a bit difficult. Mainly because I just want to say, if you are not reading the Generation V series, you need to get on that. With DARK ASCENSION, book four in the series, the characters are at a crossroads and Brennan’s writing just keeps getting better (something I was pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to say after TAINTED BLOOD).

Divider

Review: Frozen in Amber by Phillis Ames

Review: Frozen in Amber by Phillis Ames

August 6, 2015 Review 0 ★★

FROZEN IN AMBER is part legal drama, and part were-cougar coming of age story, with a little bit of family craziness and gene-splicing mixed in. But if you add in very few moments of levity and what felt like an artificially drawn-out plot, and you have an interesting book that misses the mark by just a bit. And then there is the end, which I had to read twice to make sure I actually got.

Divider

Review: Wolf Trouble (SWAT #2) by Paige Tyler

Review: Wolf Trouble (SWAT #2) by Paige Tyler

August 4, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

The first book of the SWAT (Special Wolf Alpha Team) series was fun, but WOLF TROUBLE, featuring two werewolves instead of a werewolf man with a human female, was even better.
The Dallas SWAT has been hand-picked from different law enforcement and military backgrounds, but they all have something in common: they all survived something a normal person wouldn’t, and started sprouting teeth and fur soon afterward. Werewolves in this world are triggered by a life-threatening injury in a person with the right genetic disposition.

Divider

Early Review: The Veil (Devil’s Isle #1) by Chloe Neill

Early Review: The Veil (Devil’s Isle #1) by Chloe Neill

August 3, 2015 Uncategorized 0 ★★★

I was quickly pulled into THE VEIL when Chloe Neill described the large box mounted cameras that would be triggered by magic use. The cameras carefully watching for anyone using magic or with magical abilities on most street corners instantly created a strong post-apocalyptic feel to the paranormal world that really peaked my interest.

Divider

Review:  Redzone (Mutant Files #2) by William C. Dietz

Review: Redzone (Mutant Files #2) by William C. Dietz

August 1, 2015 Review 0 ★★

REDZONE came off as really confused as to what genre it wanted to be. For the longest time it felt like I was reading a police procedural and a one that was at times confusing and slow. There were some hints about mutants and a disease being passed around in world. These mutants are put in redzones for everyone’s protection. When Cassandra does eventually go to a redzone it felt like a massive detour from the Bonebreaker serial killer plot of the police procedural section.

Divider

Divider