Source: Author

Divider

Fandemic (Bigtime #5) by Jennifer Estep

Fandemic (Bigtime #5) by Jennifer Estep

June 15, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

I tend to read KARMA GIRL, the first book in the Bigtime series, two to three times a year. It’s that good. FANDEMIC is an entertaining addition to the series without being overly repetitive.

FANDEMIC looks at the inevitable fan clubs that exist in a world where superheroes and supervilains are rampant; think Comic-con, but for real.

Divider

Review: Sealed in Sin (The Vessel Trilogy #2) by Juliette Cross

Review: Sealed in Sin (The Vessel Trilogy #2) by Juliette Cross

May 4, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

SEALED IN SIN is really a great urban fantasy. It’s got it all, action, romance and plot twists, with some creative mythology included. Though SEALED IN SIN plays off of a lot of typical urban fantasy tropes – the girl who doesn’t know she’s special all of a sudden developing powers, the dark and mysterious protector guy, etc – Cross really manages to take them and spin them her own way.

Divider

Review: Forged in Fire (The Vessel Trilogy #1) by Juliette Cross

Review: Forged in Fire (The Vessel Trilogy #1) by Juliette Cross

February 2, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

FORGED IN FIRE sounded intriguing from the first time I heard of it, so I was delighted to be able to review it here for All Things Urban Fantasy. Unexpectedly, FORGED IN FIRE felt similar to other books I’ve read, with a girl coming into special powers that make her completely unique, and all the men subsequently want her. Luckily, the New Adult tone and the mythology manage to set the story apart from other similar stories.

Divider

Review: Firewall (Magic Born #3) by Sonya Clark

Review: Firewall (Magic Born #3) by Sonya Clark

December 27, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

The Magic Born series has been, so far, a very well done, consistently written series, and I was hoping for similar in FIREWALL. After Lizzie and Vadim, I wasn’t sure if any couple could be better, or if there would be as much delving into the world. Luckily, FIREWALL delivered everything I hoped for.

Divider

Divider

Review: Baba Ali and the Clockwork Djinn by Danielle Ackley-McPhail and Day Al-Mohamed

Review: Baba Ali and the Clockwork Djinn by Danielle Ackley-McPhail and Day Al-Mohamed

November 20, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

In this retelling of ‘Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves,’ Danielle Ackley-McPhail and Day Al-Mohamed have mixed a little machinery with magic while delving into the Arabian culture, and bringing us a protagonist whose heroism is in his dedication – dedication to his craft, his family, and his desire to to what’s right. BABA ALI AND THE CLOCKWORK DJINN is a breath of fresh desert wind, and if the book suffers from some plotting and pacing missteps, it’s still a charming oasis for fantasy lovers looking to enjoy something a little less Western.

Divider

Early Review: Ghost Phoenix (The Phoenix Institute, #3) by Corrina Lawson

Early Review: Ghost Phoenix (The Phoenix Institute, #3) by Corrina Lawson

October 4, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★

I always enjoy it when a book takes characters from history and puts a twist on them as GHOST PHOENIX does with various famous figures from different points in time posing as immortals living in modern times. One issue I had with the story is the use of ‘California slang’ like ‘stellar’. I adored the fact that Richard Plantagenet is an immortal surfer dude but it

Divider

Divider

Review: Dangerous Calling (The Shadowminds #2) by A.J. Larrieu

Review: Dangerous Calling (The Shadowminds #2) by A.J. Larrieu

August 15, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Second books are always a little bit of a gamble, and if it’s a second books in a trilogy double that. So I started DANGEROUS CALLING with a little trepidation but hopes for the best. I’m pleased to say that it more than met my expectations. In fact, it exceeded them.

Divider

5bat! Review: Free Agent (Grimm Agency #1) by J. C. Nelson

5bat! Review: Free Agent (Grimm Agency #1) by J. C. Nelson

August 5, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

Since I’m always up for a good twist on the classic fairy tales, FREE AGENT sounded right up my alley. And does it ever have all the right twists! A modern version of Snow White’s poisoned apple, werewolves who don’t like red because of a red-hoodie-wearing female in their past, and fairy godparents in mirrors are just some of the aspects of the mythology Nelson has created. Add the nearly non-stop action, an awesome cast of characters, and we’ve got an excellent opening to a new series!

Divider