Publisher: Tor

Divider

Audiobook Review: The Brotherhood of the Wheel by R.S. Belcher

Audiobook Review: The Brotherhood of the Wheel by R.S. Belcher

March 17, 2016 Review 0 ★★

I really struggled with what to rate BROTHERHOOD OF THE WHEEL. In the end I decided to give it two bats because there were too many things I didn’t like overpowering the great action scenes. I’ll lay out what I hated and loved about BROTHERHOOD OF THE WHEEL and give you my final feelings and let you judge from that if it is for you.

Divider

Audiobook Review: The Family Trade (The Merchant Princes #1) by Charles Stross

Audiobook Review: The Family Trade (The Merchant Princes #1) by Charles Stross

March 5, 2016 Review 2 ★★★★

THE FAMILY TRADE isn’t Urban Fantasy or Paranormal Romance, and it’s hard for me to really classify it other than by using the broader term speculative fiction. But I enjoyed it so much I wanted to write a review about it. THE FAMILY TRADE follows a reporter, Miriam Beckstein, who quickly finds herself caught up in another dimension when she discovers that she has the very rare ability to “world walk.” Court intrigue, assassinations, and hidden romance fill THE FAMILY TRADE.

Divider

5Bat! Review: Kitty Saves the World (Kitty Norville #14) by Carrie Vaughn

5Bat! Review: Kitty Saves the World (Kitty Norville #14) by Carrie Vaughn

August 11, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★★

It’s always a bittersweet affair when one of your favorite series comes to a close. I’ve been listening to the Kitty Norville series for the past three years, so I haven’t been following the series since its inception, and it feels like it’s over too soon. That being said I was worried that when Carrie Vaughn introduced the idea of “the long game” that the series would start to drag or become repetitive. I did not ever find that too be the case, and I feel that KITTY SAVES THE WORLD is the perfect ending to such an amazing series.

Divider

Review: The Big Fix (In a Fix #3) by Linda Grimes

Review: The Big Fix (In a Fix #3) by Linda Grimes

June 11, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

Fun and quirky, THE BIG FIX wasn’t exactly what I expected it was going to be. This urban fantasy series is so different than any other out there right now that I would read it solely for that reason. Luckily, it’s got a good story and characters to root for, making it a fresh, worthwhile read in a sea of books that start to feel similar after a while.

Divider

5bat! Review: Black Blade Blues (Sarah Jane Beauhall #1) by J.A. Pitts

5bat! Review: Black Blade Blues (Sarah Jane Beauhall #1) by J.A. Pitts

March 20, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★★

What more could you want in a main character? A skilled female blacksmith, a member of the Society for Creative Anachronisms, and she wears Doc Martens. Along with a great main character there is a great story inBLACK BLADE BLUES filled with Norse mythology, dragons, and ancient swords reforged.

Divider

Review: Low Midnight (Kitty Norville #13) by Carrie Vaughn

Review: Low Midnight (Kitty Norville #13) by Carrie Vaughn

January 8, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

The book Kitty Norville fans (or maybe just me) have been waiting for, LOW MIDNIGHT tells a story from Cormac’s point of view. If you’re expecting a Kitty story, you’ll be disappointed. Kitty is still present, but this is basically Cormac taking the reins, and having his own adventure.

Divider

Review: The House of the Four Winds (One Dozen Daughters #1) by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

Review: The House of the Four Winds (One Dozen Daughters #1) by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

August 31, 2014 Review 2 ★★★

While fun, THE HOUSE OF THE FOUR WINDS was an action packed smorgasbord of a novel, full of random plot arcs and frequently undeveloped characters. It was as if the authors didn’t know what they wanted to write – fantasy, romance, adventure – and tried to smash everything into one book. Though fast paced and never boring, THE HOUSE OF THE FOUR WINDS nevertheless suffered for it.

Divider

Review: A Plunder of Souls (The Thieftaker Chronicles #3) by D. B. Jackson

Review: A Plunder of Souls (The Thieftaker Chronicles #3) by D. B. Jackson

August 18, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

When the days of the Salem witch trials have passed, and you happen to be one of a handful of spell casters who survived, what’s an honest witch to do to eek out a livelihood in Boston? Become a freelance private investigator, otherwise known as a “theiftaker” of course! And when a case comes up that no normal person can solve, much less touch, then a spellcaster is clearly what you need. This is the world of A PLUNDER OF SOULS and there is a lot to like about it.

Divider

Divider

5!bat Review: Full Fathom Five (Craft Sequence #3) by Max Gladstone

5!bat Review: Full Fathom Five (Craft Sequence #3) by Max Gladstone

July 17, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

From the titles to the page, the first three books in the Craft Sequence marry numbers with magic. The stories themselves explore different parts of society, but always on the bedrock of a spiritual economy where soul stuff is traded and bartered to power the world. FULL FATHOM FIVE weaves together new and old characters on an island of idols and mysteries, infusing this broken world with a slowly building hope that is impossible to resist.

Divider