Publisher: Self Published

Divider

Divider

Shades of Honor (Anomaly #2) by Sandy Williams

Shades of Honor (Anomaly #2) by Sandy Williams

November 4, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

SHADES OF HONOR continues the Anomaly series. The Anomaly series is a great military sci-fi series, that I feel can be enjoyed by urban fantasy readers and sci-fi readers alike. The heroine effectively has supernatural powers that make her one of the best soldiers in the Known Universe making her seem a lot like urban fantasy heroine.

Divider

Review: Bloody Acquisitions (Fred, The Vampire Accountant #3) by Drew Hayes

Review: Bloody Acquisitions (Fred, The Vampire Accountant #3) by Drew Hayes

October 14, 2016 Review 4 ★★★★

BLOODY ACQUISITIONS is easily the best book in the Fred, the Vampire Accountant series. Drew Hayes’ writing has improved a lot since THE UTTERLY UNINTERESTING AND UNADVENTUROUS TALES OF FRED, THE VAMPIRE ACCOUNTANT. He’s managed to keep all of the amazing things that make the world of Fred, that Vampire Accountant so lovable, while ditching all of the bad parts. This is no longer a collection of novellas, but one story. BLOODY ACQUISITIONS still has an episodic feel to it, but it follows one story line.

Divider

Review: Super Powereds Year 1 (Super Powereds #1) by Drew Hayes

Review: Super Powereds Year 1 (Super Powereds #1) by Drew Hayes

September 29, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Super heroes are a little outside of what we usually review here, but since I enjoyed SUPER POWEREDS YEAR 1 so much I figured I’d review it here. While I was eagerly awaiting the release of Drew Hayes next book in the Fred, the Vampire Accountant series, I decided to look into some of the other books he’s written. I’m usually not a big fan of super hero books, tv shows, or movies, but since I loved Drew Hayes other series I decided to give SUPER POWEREDS YEAR 1 a try.

Divider

5 Bat Review: The Champion of Barésh (Star World Frontier #1) by Susan Grant

5 Bat Review: The Champion of Barésh (Star World Frontier #1) by Susan Grant

August 24, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

This book is fabulous. Automatic new favourite.

I fell in love with Jemm, the main characters, from the first few pages of the book. She’s strong, she’s worried about her family and she wants a better life for them. She wants to follow her dreams, but the same sport that is putting food on their table is the one their mother claims killed her father. Oh, and girls aren’t allowed to play bahja, a kind of sensory-deprived fencing/martial art/yoga. Oops.

Divider

Early Review: Shadow Born (Shadows of Salem #1) by Jasmine Walt and Rebecca Hamilton

Early Review: Shadow Born (Shadows of Salem #1) by Jasmine Walt and Rebecca Hamilton

August 4, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

SHADOW BORN is a really fun read, with an awesome female protagonist. Brooke Chandler is a character that I could read about all day. She’s intelligent, no nonsense, kick-butt, highly independent, and an amazing detective. Then she gets placed into this awesome urban fantasy police procedural, which after reading SHADOW BORN and NIGHTSHADES, is fast becoming my favorite niche in urban fantasy.

Divider

Audiobook Review: Salvage Trouble (Black Ocean #1) by J.S. Morin

Audiobook Review: Salvage Trouble (Black Ocean #1) by J.S. Morin

July 19, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

As a life long lover of science fiction and fantasy I’ve always searched for a great story that could combine the two genres. I’ve read/attempted to read many, many books that had magic in space, but none of them have been worth mentioning until I stumbled across SALVAGE TROUBLE on Audible a couple of weeks ago, and since then the Black Ocean series has been the only thing I’ve listened to as I quickly devoured the seven books that are up on Audible right now.

Divider

Review: Struck (Phoebe Meadows #1) by Amanda Carlson

Review: Struck (Phoebe Meadows #1) by Amanda Carlson

May 30, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

If you’re already a fan of Amanda Carlson’s writing a la the Jessica McClain series, then STRUCK will be right up your alley. If you’re not familiar, then hold on to your hat, because you’re about to go for a crazy ride!

Divider

Review: The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred, the Vampire Accountant (Fred, the Vampire Accountant #1) by Drew Hayes

Review: The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred, the Vampire Accountant (Fred, the Vampire Accountant #1) by Drew Hayes

May 4, 2016 Review 2 ★★★★

THE UTTERLY UNINTERESTING AND UNADVENTUROUS TALES OF FRED, THE VAMPIRE ACCOUNTANT is one of the best books I’ve read this year. I love urban fantasy and paranormal romance, but sometimes they get a little too serious. These are stories about werewolves, vampires, witches, and eldritch horrors. These are ridiculous and crazy things, I love the serious stories, but it’s fun to take a comedic twist on the genre.

Divider