Publisher: Roc

Divider

Divider

Review: Reckoning (Fallen Siren #2) by S.J. Harper

Review: Reckoning (Fallen Siren #2) by S.J. Harper

October 6, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★

I remember ripping through the first in the Fallen Siren series, reading it like someone was likely to come up behind me at any moment and rip it out of my hands. RECKONING was good, but it wasn’t quite the same level of desperate need to read.

Divider

Review: House Immortal (House Immortal #1) by Devon Monk

Review: House Immortal (House Immortal #1) by Devon Monk

September 8, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Original and intriguing, HOUSE IMMORTAL falls closer to the science-fiction spectrum of books than urban fantasy. However, with the kickass heroine, powerful, near immortal beings, fun sidekicks, and original world, HOUSE IMMORTAL will definitely appeal to the standard urban fantasy reader.

Divider

Review: Downfall (Cal Leandros #9) by Rob Thurman

Review: Downfall (Cal Leandros #9) by Rob Thurman

August 11, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

There has been a particular fate clicking away in Cal’s genes from the moment of his birth, and a particular doom dogging the Leandros brothers since the dawn of time. DOWNFALL is when Robin Goodfellow gets fed up with watching incarnation after incarnation of the brothers die a horrible death. DOWNFALL is when he decides it’s time to play this game the Trickster way.

Divider

Review: Captured (Fallen Siren #0.5) by S.J. Harper

Review: Captured (Fallen Siren #0.5) by S.J. Harper

June 30, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Ever find yourself wondering about a loved-book’s backstory reference and thinking “hey, I wish I could read that”? I did when I first read Cursed. I loved Emma and Zach from the start with the references to their first case, I kept going back to Goodreads, wondering if I’d missed one.

Divider

Review: Skin Game (The Dresden Files #15) by Jim Butcher

Review: Skin Game (The Dresden Files #15) by Jim Butcher

June 9, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

SKIN GAME is another gripping, surprising installment in The Dresden Files, one that you won’t want to put down. Harry Dresden is playing with the big dogs these days, balancing the Winter Knight mantle against his own morality and inclinations.

Divider

Early 5bat! Review: Murder of Crows (The Others #2) by Anne Bishop

Early 5bat! Review: Murder of Crows (The Others #2) by Anne Bishop

March 3, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★★

MURDER OF CROWS should come with a warning: “Don’t open this book until you have time read the entire thing”. This second installment in The Others series has all of the humor and magic and sweet romance of WRITTEN IN RED, but this time with a threat that takes the stakes to a global level. This series is fascinating and heartwarming, and I treasure each new page that adds to its world.

Divider

Review: Red Delicious (Siobhan Quinn #2) by Kathleen Tierney

Review: Red Delicious (Siobhan Quinn #2) by Kathleen Tierney

February 10, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★

Sam Spade with blood on her teeth, Quinn is the sort of fly-by-the-seat-of-her-pants, ask-questions-later, non-detective detective that busts the genre wide open. Sex, violence, and mythology are all part of the story, but bent through Quinn’s own one of a kind prism. This Siobhan Quinn book isn’t horror or urban fantasy or mystery, but rather a horrifying, fantastical heroine who finds herself embroiled in a mystery.

Divider

Review: Iron Night (American Vampire #2) by M. L. Brennan

Review: Iron Night (American Vampire #2) by M. L. Brennan

February 4, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

After GENERATION V, I was extremely curious to see where Brennan was going to take her characters in IRON NIGHT, the second book in the American Vampire series. My cautious optimism (one can never be too sure about a second book) was rewarded tenfold – IRON NIGHT is a spectacular follow up to GENERATION V, and I can’t imagine how it could have been better.

Divider

Divider