Publisher: Orbit

Divider

Review and Interview: Garden of Dreams and Desires (Crescent City #3) by Kristen Painter

Review and Interview: Garden of Dreams and Desires (Crescent City #3) by Kristen Painter

April 27, 2015 Guests, Review 0 ★★★

I got a chance to ask Kristen some questions! See below for our quick interview! All Things Urban Fantasy: Why New Orleans? What made you decide to set the trilogy there? Kristen Painter: I love the city, love spending time there. I just needed a reason to visit more often and call it research. ATUF: Now that the Crescent City trilogy is finished, do you have any plans to continue to write books in the same world? Will we ever see Augustine and Harlow in future books? KP: I don’t have any plans to return to this world. I feel… Read more »

Divider

Review: Jinn and Juice (The Jinni #1) by Nicole Peeler

Review: Jinn and Juice (The Jinni #1) by Nicole Peeler

April 17, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

Following an author from one series to another, especially in the same genre, can sometimes be a bit of a risk. After all, it’s not the same characters that you already fell in love with, not the same world, and who knows? You may not like the new characters and world building, or they might be so similar you get the two confused. Luckily, JINN AND JUICE is a great start to a new series, original and fun, that really shows Peeler knows what she’s doing.

Divider

Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol, #1) by Gail Carriger

Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol, #1) by Gail Carriger

March 17, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

I was so excited to hear that there was going to be a new series dedicated to Prudence, the daughter of Conall and Alexia Maccon from the Parasol Protectorate series. Prudence was such an interesting child who could steal the abilities of any supernatural she touched that a whole new series dedicated to her hijinks as a young adult just had to be written. PRUDENCE is an absolute delight with dangerous new creatures and high skies dirgible adventures, odd new supernatural characters and mysteries, and the typical witty fancifullness I’ve come to expect and enjoy from Gail Carriger’s work.

Divider

Review: City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

Review: City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

December 18, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Reading CITY OF ETERNAL NIGHT is like getting sucked into a whole new world. It’s one of those books that makes you wonder where the time went, since it flows so smoothly and effortlessly. It was a treat to revisit Harlow and Augustine, and their world full of fae politics and intrigue.

Divider

Review: Otherworld Nights (Otherworld Stories, #3) by Kelley Armstrong

Review: Otherworld Nights (Otherworld Stories, #3) by Kelley Armstrong

November 6, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

OTHERWORLD NIGHTS was a nice compilation of short stories of Women of the Otherworld, that were part of various other anthologies over the years with a new Savannah story at the end. Going back and re-reading these stories felt very comforting and familiar since I’ve been reading Kelley Armstrong’s stories for so long.

Divider

Review: Daring (Pax Arcana #2) by Elliott James

Review: Daring (Pax Arcana #2) by Elliott James

October 16, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

With DARING, the second book in the Pax Arcana series, Elliott James becomes an urban fantasy author to watch. DARING manages to take everything I liked about book one and keep it, chuck everything I hated, and not come across as a sophomore slump. It’s a surprisingly good read that really steps up the series.

Divider

Review: Red Blooded (Jessica McClain #4) by Amanda Carlson

Review: Red Blooded (Jessica McClain #4) by Amanda Carlson

September 11, 2014 Review 2 ★★★

RED BLOODED is an unsurprising addition to the Jessica McClain series. By that I mean it follows Jessica’s mishaps and constant fight for survival in a fast-paced ride through the book. Though the setting is imaginative and different, and we learn more about Jessica’s history and the prophecy that everybody in the supernatural world is concerned about, which is rewarding, RED BLOODED lacks the interplay between Jessica and the more well-known characters, such as Rourke or Ray, which is disappointing.

Divider

Review: The Ripper Affair (Bannon & Clare #3) by Lilith Saintcrow

Review: The Ripper Affair (Bannon & Clare #3) by Lilith Saintcrow

August 21, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★★

Perhaps the best of the series thus far, THE RIPPER AFFAIR is the confluence of a dark mystery, an exploration of London’s altered and haunting landscape, and the emotional growing pains of Bannon’s little family. A fantastic book for any one of these elements, combining all three makes for a relentless, mesmerizing read.

Divider

Review: Cursed Moon (The Prospero’s War #2) by Jaye Wells

Review: Cursed Moon (The Prospero’s War #2) by Jaye Wells

August 14, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

The Prospero’s War series inhabits a world where magic permeates the landscape of chemistry and pharmacology. With hints of allegory to our own reality’s war on drugs, the fundamental difference is how those born with magical potential have an advantage when it comes to cooking, but no additional defenses against the powerful high such activity creates.

Divider

Release Day Review: The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

Release Day Review: The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

June 10, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★★

If you haven’t read any spoilers for THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS, it’s hard to know what to expect. The bare-bones description doesn’t give much away, but though the story starts out a bit vague, told through the eyes of a ten year old girl, it soon becomes an engrossing, mind-blowing and genre defying experience that is nearly impossible to put down.

Divider