Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers


Review: Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper

Review: Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper

September 23, 2014 Review 5 ★★

SALT & STORM sounded so good, but unfortunately, the description and the book don’t actually match up, and not for the better. With a whiney heroine, strong deviation from a typical romance plotline, and some frustrating questions left unanswered, SALT & STORM isn’t a book I’ll be revisiting.


Review: Idols (Icons #2) by Margaret Stohl

Review: Idols (Icons #2) by Margaret Stohl

August 19, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

Whereas ICONS was a fast-paced, rush of a novel, IDOLS is a slow burn, with bits and pieces offered to the reader throughout, until the big reveal at the end. While not a bad thing, my expectation was for a higher level of action, and I was mildly disappointed at the resulting slowness.


Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

January 6, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Before starting ERASED, the second book in the Altered series, I was tempted to go back to ALTERED for a skim-type of refresher, or to reread my review. I did neither and as it turns out, I didn’t need to. ERASED did a beautiful job of getting me back into Anna’s life, her world, and the events of the previous book. It also managed it without the sometimes off-putting repetition I’ve seen in other series books (Mythos Academy comes to mind).


5!bat Review: Cold Spell (Fairytale Retellings #4) by Jackson Pearce

5!bat Review: Cold Spell (Fairytale Retellings #4) by Jackson Pearce

November 18, 2013 Review 2 ★★★★★

While not normally drawn in by retellings of the The Snow Queen (Beauty and the Beast is more my style) COLD SPELL surprised me with its originality and unique take on a lesser known fairy tale. I enjoyed the twists and turns in the story and the way Pearce spaced it out, giving the reader small bits and pieces as the story progresses. With a strong female lead character, action and a tender romance, I couldn’t have asked for anything more from COLD SPELL.


Early Review: Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2) by Gail Carriger

Early Review: Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2) by Gail Carriger

October 22, 2013 Review 0 ★★★★

As charming and quirky as Gail Carriger’s Soulless series, CURTSIES & CONSPIRACIES delves back into all the ways that society, science, and magic can collide. Sophronia’s perspective on manners and intelligence gathering is a fantastic window into this world, which is as interesting for the social dynamics as for the dirigibles and mechanimals.


Early 5!bat Review: Rags & Bones edited by Melissa Marr and Tim Pratt

Early 5!bat Review: Rags & Bones edited by Melissa Marr and Tim Pratt

October 14, 2013 Review 0 ★★★★★

RAGS & BONES is a gorgeously curated collection of short stories, as satisfying for the glimpses of each story’s origin story as the final product. Have you ever wished you could be a fly on the wall when your favorite author pitches an idea? See a little piece of art through their creative lens? As favorite authors distill classic tales to their essence, this anthology was immersive and thought provoking, a masters class in the creative process with an all star attendance list.


Early Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Early Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

August 30, 2013 Review 0 ★★★★

THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN is a love song to the vampire stories I loved in adolescence. It is all the delicious, dark danger of vampire mythology wrapped around a teenage heroine who I loved dearly. Amidst the drama and the death and the danger, Tana is a battered hero, made stronger by past damage. Intent on “doing the right thing”, even as that one, true thing becomes amorphous and shadowed, I was breathlessly enthralled by her from beginning to end.


5bat! Review: Loki’s Wolves (The Blackwell Pages #1) by K. L. Armstrong and M. A. Marr

5bat! Review: Loki’s Wolves (The Blackwell Pages #1) by K. L. Armstrong and M. A. Marr

May 12, 2013 Review 2 ★★★★★

I’ve read quite a lot of popular, YA fantasy over the years. Anything my younger sister likes, I pick up and read along. Some of these collaborations have been great (she gets credit for Harry Potter, to be sure). Some have been disappointments… either too juvenile or too derivative to hold my attention. I approached LOKI’S WOLVES holding my breath, hoping not to find a Norse Percy Jackson, and within one chapter, all my fears were allayed.


Early 5 bat! Review: Icons (Icons #1) by Margaret Stohl

Early 5 bat! Review: Icons (Icons #1) by Margaret Stohl

April 30, 2013 Review 0 ★★★★★

ICONS pulled me in nearly immediately, with the fascinating premise of a futuristic world in which humanity is ruled by a group of aliens with technology that can make hearts stop. There is so much to love about the book: the vivid characters, the enticing mystery, the excellent pacing and even the small details, all well done and enjoyable to read. Full of action, tension, humor and the occasional romantic moment, ICONS has something for everybody.


Early Review: When We Wake by Karen Healey

Early Review: When We Wake by Karen Healey

March 3, 2013 Review 0 ★★

WHEN WE WAKE is a very political book, and, to a lesser degree, a very religious book. Those aren’t necessarily bad things. But when the politics and religion are preachy, it becomes much harder to enjoy the story hiding underneath.