Publisher: HarperCollins

Divider

Divider

Review: Newt’s Emerald, by Garth Nix

Review: Newt’s Emerald, by Garth Nix

October 25, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

With high action, loveable characters (and some quite despicable ones), and an Austen-like setting, NEWT’S EMERALD is a fun ride that is perfect for younger readers, while still having enough to interest adult readers.

It’s a good thing that Truthful grew up with a gaggle of boisterous boy cousins; when her family’s heirloom emerald is stolen, dressing up as a boy to scour the streets of London is as easy as donning a glamour-enchanted mustache and imitating her cousins.

Divider

Review: About A Vampire (Argeneau Vampires #22) by Lynsay Sands

Review: About A Vampire (Argeneau Vampires #22) by Lynsay Sands

October 2, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

ABOUT A VAMPIRE was a strange book with many fun scenes and characters, but there was definitely something missing: an antagonist. A book without a bad guy or even an big dramatic ending sequence feels a bit like a roller coaster that ends at the top of the ride.

This is all a shame, because the opening chapter was killer. It’s funny, introduces the characters beautifully and has just enough foreshadowing to make you smile when things inevitably hit the fan.

Divider

Review: Supervillains Anonymous (Superheroes Anonymous #2) by Lexie Dunne

Review: Supervillains Anonymous (Superheroes Anonymous #2) by Lexie Dunne

July 2, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

This book was entertaining, but it ran out of steam somewhere around the middle. The story picks up exactly where the first one left off, to the point where I feel that SUPERVILLAINS ANONYMOUS should have just been included in the first book, Superheroes Anonymous. I would have rather read the whole story in one go and saved myself some confusion.

Divider

5bat! Review: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

5bat! Review: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

June 1, 2015 Review 3 ★★★★★

After I called CRUEL BEAUTY my top YA read of 2014, I wasn’t sure that CRIMSON BOUND could live up to the mightily high expectations I had for it. I mean, this is a book that I requested before there was even a description to go with the lovely cover. And, while I’m afraid that for me, CRIMSON BOUND doesn’t top CRUEL BEAUTY, it is still a magnificent story, well written with some great characters.

Divider

Review: The Immortal Who Loved Me (Argeneau #21) by Lynsay Sands

Review: The Immortal Who Loved Me (Argeneau #21) by Lynsay Sands

April 9, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

I need to preface this review with a confession: I have read most, if not all, of the Argeneau vampire series, and if I hadn’t, I am not sure I would have enjoyed THE IMMORTAL WHO LOVED ME as much as I did. Still, there are a bunch of things to like in this latest instalment.

Divider

Review: Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch

Review: Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch

October 14, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

Though the world of SNOW LIKE ASHES by Sara Raasch is a bit uninspired in its construction, Raasch more than makes up for kingdoms named after seasons and capital cities named for misspelled calendar months with Meira and the other refugees of the Kingdom of Winter. An aspiring soldier, desperate to be important to her people and her lost homeland, sixteen-year-old Meira struggles with being kept off the battlefield and forced into a world of political machinations. She’s a pawn, she’s a symbol, she’s a hero – much like THE HUNGER GAMES Katniss, all Meira really knows is that she wants to survive. That, and she’s in love with her best friend, the once and future king.

Divider

Review: Storm Siren (Storm Siren #1) by Mary Weber

Review: Storm Siren (Storm Siren #1) by Mary Weber

August 25, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Sucked in by the intriguing cover and blurb, I found myself captivated by STORM SIREN the minute I started reading. Though sometimes light on the world-building, in STORM SIREN, Weber creates a cast of fascinating characters, with lots of action, and tons of plot twists and turns to keep the reader on the edge of their seat.

Divider

Divider

Review: Scorched by Erica Hayes

Review: Scorched by Erica Hayes

June 28, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

SCORCHED by Erica Hayes: wherein a young woman by the name of Verity Fortune is a telekinetic Batgirl in a city with a rogues’ gallery to rival Gotham’s. Appropriately nicknamed the Gallery – part mafia, part supervillain cabal – its members wage a never-ending war against the ‘augmented’ Fortunes, who run the multinational Fortune Corp by day, and masquerade at night in various superhero guises. It’s Verity who gives this novel its Christopher Nolan-esque grit right from the start, after she escapes an asylum where she was held and tortured for nine months, with a shattered memory and little control over her powers.

Divider