Publisher: Harlequin

Divider

Divider

Release Day Review: The Texas Shifter’s Mate, by Karen Whiddon

Release Day Review: The Texas Shifter’s Mate, by Karen Whiddon

January 1, 2018 Review 2

With so much focus on the underwater characters, it’s disappointing that THE TEXAS SHIFTER’S MATE didn’t try to capitalize on the originality of its premise. This book should have had the word mermaid in the title. Zach and Shayla are torn between land and sea for most of the book, which makes their HEA that much more satisfying.

Divider

Review: Bound by the Night by Megan Hart

Review: Bound by the Night by Megan Hart

August 1, 2016 Review 0

Megan Hart has been a long time favorite for me in contemporary romance. Raw, visceral chemistry married to a realism that manages to intrigue and haunt. Seeing her name on a Paranormal Romance was an exciting treat, but I found that the realism Hart brings to romance did not carry over to believable “paranormal”.

Divider

Review: Her Secret Spy (Code: Warrior SEALs #2), by Cindy Dees

Review: Her Secret Spy (Code: Warrior SEALs #2), by Cindy Dees

May 23, 2016 Review 0

When I picked up HER SECRET SPY, with its typically suspense-romance cover, I wasn’t expecting to be reviewing it for All Things Urban Fantasy; but it turns out that the main character, Lissa, has psychic powers and runs an occult curio shop. Suddenly, it was surprisingly up my alley! It also helps that the writing was better than the average Harlequin monthly.

Divider

Review: Canadian Wolf (Alpha Force #7) by Linda O. Johnson

Review: Canadian Wolf (Alpha Force #7) by Linda O. Johnson

September 8, 2015 Review 0

There isn’t much to say about CANADIAN WOLF, because there isn’t much going on in this book. It’s almost a shame since the characters and writing aren’t too bad. It was simply a chore to get through: nothing happened until at least half way through, and even then it felt fabricated and extraneous.

Divider

Review: Possessed by a Wolf (Horsemen, #3) by Sharon Ashwood

Review: Possessed by a Wolf (Horsemen, #3) by Sharon Ashwood

May 5, 2015 Review 0

POSSESSED BY A WOLF is a pretty fun action packed story with an at times confusing world building which was partially due to my habitual tendency to jump blindly into the middle of a series. That aside I enjoyed the tension and political machinations the characters have to work through while bullets fly, people are put in deadly peril, and things go boom.

Divider

Review: Moonlight and Diamonds (The Saint-Pierres #7) by Michele Hauf

Review: Moonlight and Diamonds (The Saint-Pierres #7) by Michele Hauf

March 31, 2015 Review 0

Set in summertime Paris, MOONLIGHT AND DIAMONDS features an American werewolf alpha, looking for the right werewolf gal to start his own pack, and a cold Parisian beauty who has been running away from her wild side for years. For such a short book, the evolution of the characters and their relationship was believable and mostly well-paced. The mystery was fun and the varied paranormal world-building was interesting.

Divider

Review: Her Wild Protector by  Naomi Bellina

Review: Her Wild Protector by Naomi Bellina

July 12, 2014 Review 0

I picked up HER WILD PROTECTOR mainly due to the unique take on shifters being able to change into multiple forms. I liked learning the origin of the Metamorphs and the conflicts the face. The plot was pretty interesting and moved at a steady pace with a lot of suspense and action scenes. While I understand the

Divider

Review: The Dark World (Dark World #1) by Cara Lynn Shultz

Review: The Dark World (Dark World #1) by Cara Lynn Shultz

May 30, 2014 Review 0

For the first few chapters, THE DARK WORLD by Cara Lynn Shultz couldn’t hold my attention. I found the start of the book clunky, over-flowing with adverbs and unnecessary speech tags. The author wastes paragraphs on everyone’s hair, but skips over important emotional moments, like when Dottie the ghost girl tells the main character she killed herself because she was a pregnant teen in the ‘50s. Even the action scenes felt flat. Then Logan Bradley appeared, and the book got a new life.

Divider

Review: The Lost (The Lost #1) by Sarah Beth Durst

Review: The Lost (The Lost #1) by Sarah Beth Durst

May 29, 2014 Review 1

From an initial, chilling fall into darkness, Sarah Beth Durst brings hope and magic to a horrific, almost apocalyptic landscape. Don’t pick up this book unless you have time to make it through at least the first half of Lauren’s journey, as her grief and circumstances will make it painful to leave her until she finds her footing.

Divider