Genre: YA Paranormal Romance

Divider

Review: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

Review: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

February 7, 2017 Review 1

Well, THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING was nothing like what I expected it to be. There was a lot of hype surrounding this book, and I was really excited to read it. Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations of what it should have been, based on all the praise it had.

Divider

Review: RoseBlood by A.G. Howard

Review: RoseBlood by A.G. Howard

January 20, 2017 Review 1

ROSEBLOOD is, for lack of a better word, a bit weird. Billed as a young adult retelling of The Phantom of the Opera, it reads more like a sequel to its inspiration, rather than a retelling. Dark and mysterious, ROSEBLOOD has a lot going for it, but it just didn’t live up to what I felt it could have been.

Divider

Review: The Artisans (The Artisans #1) by Julie Reece

Review: The Artisans (The Artisans #1) by Julie Reece

July 27, 2015 Review 0

In the original description I read of THE ARTISANS, this crucial sentence was at the end: “The Artisans is a delectably rich, layered and dark YA Southern Gothic inspired by Jeanne Marie Leprince de Beaumont’s classic Beauty and the Beast.” Generally anything promising a retelling of Beauty and the Beast (my favorite fairytale) is an instant win for me. And while I can definitely see the parallels between THE ARTISANS and Beauty and the Beast, THE ARTISANS had quite a bit more going on, that in fact, at times I felt like there was almost too much going on.

Divider

Review: A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray

Review: A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray

November 14, 2014 Review 0

A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU by Claudia Gray is a charming, romantic adventure across multiple universes, though as with many fantastical stories built on a vague, pseudo-scientific premise, the souffle falls if you poke at it. As long as you’re the type of reader who can ignore inconsistencies in the rules of made-up technologies, Marguerite’s dance between dimensions in pursuit of revenge, love, and loss should spark your imagination.

Divider

Review: The Last Changeling (Faerie Revolutions #1) by Chelsea Pitcher

Review: The Last Changeling (Faerie Revolutions #1) by Chelsea Pitcher

November 8, 2014 Review 0

THE LAST CHANGELING by Chelsea Pitcher is Ordinary People-meets-Maleficent – and if that sounds like a strange combination, that’s because it is. Almost all of the information given in the blurb on the back of the book is actually kept from the reader for more than a hundred pages, and Elora’s motives for attending a human high school are extremely vague. Instead of a faerie war, we mostly get Taylor’s still-fresh grief over losing his younger brother and the torment of his high school. Elora’s ‘otherness’ (not to mention otherworldly beauty) gives Taylor something to focus on aside from his family’s pain, but it’s a long time before the reader gets to know her endgame.

Divider

Review: Loop (Loop #1) by Karen Atkins

Review: Loop (Loop #1) by Karen Atkins

October 25, 2014 Review 0

I keep trying time-travel stories and while LOOP is the first one that left me with a vague sense that I understood what was going on in the various timelines, they still end up giving me something of a headache while I read them. I can’t help wondering if my struggle to keep up with what’s going on keeps me from fully engaging with the plot itself. As far as LOOP goes, I think that’s only half of it.

Divider

Review: Sublime by Christina Lauren

Review: Sublime by Christina Lauren

October 18, 2014 Review 0

Don’t be fooled into expecting the usual YA ghostly love story, SUBLIME will entrap those tender expectations and twist them into horror. While the characters are as charismatic as expected from the expert romance duo Christina Lauren, most of the ghostly promise of the plot ultimately fell flat.

Divider

Review: Prophecy (Calypso #1) by Julie Anne Lindsey

Review: Prophecy (Calypso #1) by Julie Anne Lindsey

October 3, 2014 Review 0

If you’ve ever found yourself wishing you had more demi-gods and Vikings in your life, then picking up PROPHECY would be a perfect cure. Especially if battles between good and evil that don’t pull punches, twists and turns, and keep you up reading until the wee hours of the night are your thing.

Divider

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy

August 30, 2014 Review 2

This is one of those times I have to step back from a book that had me chair-dancing in glee and not rate it based on the end-of-book squeeage I felt, but to search for a little objectivity in my review. Reaction alone, this would be a five plus. Plus a few more.

Divider

Review: Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5) by Richelle Mead

Review: Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5) by Richelle Mead

August 4, 2014 Review 0

If there’s one thing you can count on with book series, it’s cliffhangers. If you’re lucky, it’s a trilogy and you only have to deal with one, maybe two. Multi-book series, you get little ones along the way leading up to the Big One in the penultimate book. I knew this going in to SILVER SHADOWS because I remember the similar cliffhanger between books five and six of the Vampire Academy series. I was prepared, I told myself.

Divider