Genre: Urban Fantasy

Divider

Review: Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez

Review: Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez

September 27, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

I’m usually not that much of a graphic novel reader, however, I had lots of friends recommend Locke & Key Vol 1: Welcome to Lovecraft to me, so after much convincing I picked it up. And I’m glad I did. Locke & Key is a series I will read through to the end, and I liked it so much I’ll be getting the fancy hardcover versions for the rest of the series.

Divider

Release Day Review: Magic Binds (Kate Daniels #9) by Ilona Andrews

Release Day Review: Magic Binds (Kate Daniels #9) by Ilona Andrews

September 20, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

Have you ever read a book and wanted to immediately start it over again or find a way to get the next book even though it isn’t completed yet and your T.A.R.D.I.S. is always broken? That happens to me every time I finish one of the books in the Kate Daniels series. Such is the disappointment of traveling through time in a linear fashion.

Divider

5bat! Release Day Review: Deja Who (Insighter #1) by MaryJanice Davidson

5bat! Release Day Review: Deja Who (Insighter #1) by MaryJanice Davidson

September 6, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

I will admit it: I started reading DEJA WHO solely because it is set in Chicago. But I continued reading it for the originality, the wit, and the mystery. First in a new series, DEJA WHO is a huge departure for Davidson after the 15 book Undead series. Focusing on the prickly Leah, an Insighter, somebody who can see people’s past lives, the world is creative and original, the romance is sweet, and the mystery is nothing too scary.

Divider

Divider

5bat! Review: Flight from Mayhem (Fly by Night #2) by Yasmine Galenorn

5bat! Review: Flight from Mayhem (Fly by Night #2) by Yasmine Galenorn

August 26, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

The Fly By Night series is quickly becoming one series I know I don’t want to miss. Though categorized as paranormal romance, FLIGHT FROM MAYHEM reads more like an urban fantasy with a romantic subplot, with the mystery taking center stage. The characters are really what shine, making FLIGHT FROM MAYHEM a super enjoyable read.

Divider

Review: Debtor’s Prison (Bookburners #2.5) by Mur Lafferty

Review: Debtor’s Prison (Bookburners #2.5) by Mur Lafferty

August 25, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Every small glimpse each episode of Bookburners gives us into the past of the various characters is like a little treat for me, and in this episode, after getting a bit of Liam’s past in the previous episode, focused on Asanti, who easily is my favorite character.

Divider

Divider

Release Day Review:  The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

Release Day Review: The Sight (Devil’s Isle #2) by Chloe Neill

August 16, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Halfway through reading THE SIGHT I lost track of who wrote this really well written and interesting book. I blame the heat this summer for that. There is really no connection to Chloe Neill’s beloved Chicagoland Vampires series and that is entirely a great thing as it shows the versatility and creativity it takes to create not one but two solidly built worlds.

Divider

Early Review: Shadow Born (Shadows of Salem #1) by Jasmine Walt and Rebecca Hamilton

Early Review: Shadow Born (Shadows of Salem #1) by Jasmine Walt and Rebecca Hamilton

August 4, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

SHADOW BORN is a really fun read, with an awesome female protagonist. Brooke Chandler is a character that I could read about all day. She’s intelligent, no nonsense, kick-butt, highly independent, and an amazing detective. Then she gets placed into this awesome urban fantasy police procedural, which after reading SHADOW BORN and NIGHTSHADES, is fast becoming my favorite niche in urban fantasy.

Divider

Review: Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

Review: Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson

July 28, 2016 Review 1 ★★★★

Melissa F. Olson has become one of my insta-buy authors. I haven’t read anything of hers I haven’t liked, and NIGHTSHADES is no exception to that. NIGHTSHADES is a gritty police procedural in an awesome urban fantasy world.

Divider