Genre: Urban Fantasy

Divider

Divider

Divider

Review: Low Midnight (Kitty Norville #13) by Carrie Vaughn

Review: Low Midnight (Kitty Norville #13) by Carrie Vaughn

January 8, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

The book Kitty Norville fans (or maybe just me) have been waiting for, LOW MIDNIGHT tells a story from Cormac’s point of view. If you’re expecting a Kitty story, you’ll be disappointed. Kitty is still present, but this is basically Cormac taking the reins, and having his own adventure.

Divider

Review: Angel Bait (Angel Assassins, #0.5) by Tricia Skinner

Review: Angel Bait (Angel Assassins, #0.5) by Tricia Skinner

December 31, 2014 Review 3 ★★★★

ANGEL BAIT is a really fascinating story packed full of thrilling action and sensual romance. One issue I did have was my confusion over whether humans were aware of the paranormal creatures surrounding them or not. This issue really didn’t affect the story and it was cleared up pretty much. That aside, I loved the exploration of the nephilim (half angel half human) and the world in which they exist.

Divider

Review: The Fairyland Murders (Deadly Ever After, #1)  by J.A. Kazimer

Review: The Fairyland Murders (Deadly Ever After, #1) by J.A. Kazimer

December 22, 2014 Review 1 ★★★

THE FAIRYLAND MURDERS was a interesting mixing of noir detective stories with fairy tales. With this mixture of a gritty murder mystery with light fanciful fairies and princesses you get an at times bizarre world filled with some hilarious interactions between characters. There are some neat references to fairy tale characters and fairy tales.

Divider

Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

December 20, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

SUSPICION by Alexandra Monir, is pitched as a modern version of the classic thriller Rebecca, and it definitely creates that vibe, along with a pretty solid mystery, and a dash of The Princess Diaries. Between that and the romance of reconnecting with a first love, this book didn’t need anything else – but it’s ‘urban fantasy,’ and so magic must appear. It’s rare for me to wish a story lacked a supernatural element, but with SUSPICION (a nonsensical title for the novel) enough is happening that the subplot about an ancestor with an unusually green thumb and the inheritance of “Elemental” powers just unbalances the plot.

Divider

Review: City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

Review: City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

December 18, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Reading CITY OF ETERNAL NIGHT is like getting sucked into a whole new world. It’s one of those books that makes you wonder where the time went, since it flows so smoothly and effortlessly. It was a treat to revisit Harlow and Augustine, and their world full of fae politics and intrigue.

Divider

Review: Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

December 9, 2014 Review 7

‘ve only ever read one other Anita Blake novel and after reading that book I experienced the first time ever wanting to unread a story due to reason to long to write here. Since then, I’ve been hesitant to even pick up the first few books of this series which are supposed to be excellent according to everyone I’ve spoken to about the series. I decided to give JASON a chance as I was prepared for the random sexual encounters, throngs of characters, and over explaining of Anita’s relationships.

Divider

Review: Night Shift (Anthology)

Review: Night Shift (Anthology)

November 29, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

While anthologies aren’t normally my thing, the draw of the Kate Daniels and SPI Investigations stories were just too much for me to pass up in the case of NIGHT SHIFT. Luckily, the whole anthology was high caliber and well worth the read, with four outstanding stories that, though part of series in three of the four cases, manage to stand on their own.

Divider

Early Review:  Black Widow (Elemental Assassin #12) by Jennifer Estep

Early Review: Black Widow (Elemental Assassin #12) by Jennifer Estep

November 24, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

Where BLACK WIDOW excels is going far beyond my expectations of a Elemental Assassin book. The series has felt repetitive at times though I keep coming back for me as I adore Gin and every other character that crosses paths with her good guy or bad. What BLACK WIDOW has done is take a series I’ve become comfortable with in regards to how the plot is going to go and flip it on its head. There is a game changer at the end of this book that I adore and can’t wait to see in the next book. Future expectations aside this book is excellent in its forward momentum towards that game changer moment.

Divider