Genre: Urban Fantasy

Divider

Review: Jinn and Juice (The Jinni #1) by Nicole Peeler

Review: Jinn and Juice (The Jinni #1) by Nicole Peeler

April 17, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

Following an author from one series to another, especially in the same genre, can sometimes be a bit of a risk. After all, it’s not the same characters that you already fell in love with, not the same world, and who knows? You may not like the new characters and world building, or they might be so similar you get the two confused. Luckily, JINN AND JUICE is a great start to a new series, original and fun, that really shows Peeler knows what she’s doing.

Divider

Divider

Review:  The Diamond Conspiracy (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences #4) by Pip Ballantine, Tee Morris

Review: The Diamond Conspiracy (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences #4) by Pip Ballantine, Tee Morris

March 30, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

THE DIAMOND CONSPIRACY is full of steampunk awesomeness as I thought this whole series would be just from reading the story summary of PHOENIX RISING. It has everything from weird steampunk weapons and tricked out vehicles to intense action and some romance thrown in as well. Add a mad scientist doing creepy experiments and secrets upon secrets and this book is filled with so much delicious ideas.

Divider

Review:  Pocket Apocalypse (InCryptid #4) by Seanan McGuire

Review: Pocket Apocalypse (InCryptid #4) by Seanan McGuire

March 26, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

With a series about cryptids who can kill you in very weird ways it was inevitable that a visit to Australia, a land of ten thousand things that can kill you if you look at them wrong; was in store for the Incryptid series. POCKET APOCALYPSE introduces werewolves into this world which from the perspective of someone who has read a ton of werewolf related books, seemed kind of mundane for this series.

Divider

Review: Armageddon Rules (Grimm Agency #2) by J.C. Nelson

Review: Armageddon Rules (Grimm Agency #2) by J.C. Nelson

March 23, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

ARMAGEDDON RULES follows in FREE AGENT’s footsteps as an action-packed, roller-coaster ride of a novel, full of drama and never letting the reader catch a breath. While sometimes this works, in this case, the entire novel became a bit difficult to follow, with multiple plotlines and many similarly named characters offering the opportunity for confusion.

Divider

5bat! Review: Black Blade Blues (Sarah Jane Beauhall #1) by J.A. Pitts

5bat! Review: Black Blade Blues (Sarah Jane Beauhall #1) by J.A. Pitts

March 20, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★★

What more could you want in a main character? A skilled female blacksmith, a member of the Society for Creative Anachronisms, and she wears Doc Martens. Along with a great main character there is a great story inBLACK BLADE BLUES filled with Norse mythology, dragons, and ancient swords reforged.

Divider

Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol, #1) by Gail Carriger

Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol, #1) by Gail Carriger

March 17, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

I was so excited to hear that there was going to be a new series dedicated to Prudence, the daughter of Conall and Alexia Maccon from the Parasol Protectorate series. Prudence was such an interesting child who could steal the abilities of any supernatural she touched that a whole new series dedicated to her hijinks as a young adult just had to be written. PRUDENCE is an absolute delight with dangerous new creatures and high skies dirgible adventures, odd new supernatural characters and mysteries, and the typical witty fancifullness I’ve come to expect and enjoy from Gail Carriger’s work.

Divider

Review:  Phoenix in My Fortune (Monster Haven #6) by R.L. Naquin

Review: Phoenix in My Fortune (Monster Haven #6) by R.L. Naquin

March 10, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

PHOENIX IN MY FORTUNE is a fond farewell to a wonderfully wacky universe filled with uniquely diverse characters and with tons of heart at its core. This story is a lot more serious than the previous books in the Monster Haven series as it has to wrap up a pretty dark series storyline involving the destruction of the world as our beloved characters know it.

Divider

Divider

Review: Dark Debt (Chicagoland Vampires #11) by Chloe Neill

Review: Dark Debt (Chicagoland Vampires #11) by Chloe Neill

March 6, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

While some of my love of the Chicagoland Vampires series stems from its setting in my adopted hometown of Chicago, that alone could not sustain adoration of a series through eleven books. With DARK DEBT, Neill manages to surprise me, and make me fall in love with the characters and the series all over again.

Divider