Genre: Suspense

Divider

Review: Urban Enemies by Joseph Nassise, Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne, Seanan McGuire, Kelley Armstrong, Jonathan Maberry, Jeff Somers, Steven Savile, Caitlin Kittredge, Sam Witt, Craig Schaefer, Jon F. Merz, Faith Hunter, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Lilith Saintcrow, Carrie Vaughn, Domino Finn

Review: Urban Enemies by Joseph Nassise, Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne, Seanan McGuire, Kelley Armstrong, Jonathan Maberry, Jeff Somers, Steven Savile, Caitlin Kittredge, Sam Witt, Craig Schaefer, Jon F. Merz, Faith Hunter, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Lilith Saintcrow, Carrie Vaughn, Domino Finn

August 7, 2017 Review 2

URBAN ENEMIES is a pretty fun romp into the twisted minds of the bad guys from various urban fantasy series. There were of course some characters who I had no clue about. Luckily each story starts off with a general summary of the series the character(s) appear in so there was some idea of what was going on.

Divider

Review: The Shadow Omnibus by Amy Braun

Review: The Shadow Omnibus by Amy Braun

June 23, 2017 Review 0

Being a collection of short stories, THE SHADOW OMNIBUS was a pretty quick and fun read with five haunting tales of horror and adventure. I was clued in to the fact that this was a collection of short stories by one author and not five after wondering at the similarities of the writing styles and lack of author list.

Divider

Review: Shadow Reaper (Shadow #2) by Christine Feehan

Review: Shadow Reaper (Shadow #2) by Christine Feehan

June 19, 2017 Review 0

With SHADOW REAPER, Feehan has managed to improve a series I already enjoyed. The part I liked, the sexy and dark vibe, was maintained, but the main characters felt more realistic and not so over-the-top. Also, the very original world continues to grow, and I find myself looking forward to all of the Ferraro siblings’ stories!

Divider

Review: Plague Zone, by David Wellington

Review: Plague Zone, by David Wellington

April 24, 2017 Good & Cheap, Review 0

Note: This book is available online for free. Read it now!

I read this book so quickly, I could barely believe it. The main character’s drive consumed me the way the zombies in the book consume the living.

Tim Kempfer if not a warrior. He’s a librarian on a very simple mission: kill the zombie that murdered his wife and son, and if needed, end them as well. How does he know which zombie he needs to kill in a post-apocalyptic, quarantined Seattle? Easy: his wife’s death was on the news, and it was so graphic and iconic of the disaster that the broadcasts have been playing it on a loop.

Divider

Review: Her True Match (X-Ops #6) by Paige Tyler

Review: Her True Match (X-Ops #6) by Paige Tyler

April 7, 2017 Review 0

I don’t know why Paige Tyler’s two series are so different, but where I adore the SWAT (Secret Werewolf Alpha Team) series, the X-Ops series just isn’t my cup of tea. It’s not as fun as the first, and the characters aren’t as likeable or deep.

Divider

Release Day Review: A Wolf Unleashed (SWAT: Special Wolf Alpha Team #5) by Paige Tyler

December 6, 2016 Review 0

A Wolf Unleashed keeps the action high and the romance steamy for the duration of the book. With dog-fighting rings, a hot new drug that’s killing people at an alarming rate and a spat of college girls going missing, there’s a lot for the Dallas SWAT team to be involved with, even if their supervisors would rather they just break doors down on command. Too bad these shifters can smell trouble coming a mile away.

Divider

5bat! Review: Under Her Skin, by Margo Bond Collins

July 21, 2016 Review 1

With a violent killer on the loose who targets young shifter girls, Lindi Parker has to accept help from all sides, even if that means sharing her deepest secret with the very shifters who are tasked with killing her kind. Lindi is a truly different heroine, one who battles her cold, scaly side with the human side her adoptive parents have taught her to emulate; it’s a daily battle between nature and nurture, and it’s a battle she can’t afford to lose even for a second.

Were-snakes are a rare breed in shapeshifter fiction, and UNDER HER SKIN takes advantage of that to make their powers truly unique, even within the world of the book. Were-snakes, or lamia, are so feared because they are incredibly powerful, able to shift in ways no other type of shifter can.

Divider

Review: To Love A Wolf (SWAT: Special Wolf Alpha Team #4), by Paige Tyler

Review: To Love A Wolf (SWAT: Special Wolf Alpha Team #4), by Paige Tyler

June 13, 2016 Review 0

It’s no secret that I adore the SWAT (Special Wolf Alpha Team) series, having given 4 and 5 bats to the last two titles in the series. I’m pleased to say that TO LOVE A WOLF did not disappoint, keeping the werewolf/criminal action high, the romance hot and the mystery strong throughout the whole book. Cooper and Everly are super together and I finished their story in just one day.

Divider

Review: Her Secret Spy (Code: Warrior SEALs #2), by Cindy Dees

Review: Her Secret Spy (Code: Warrior SEALs #2), by Cindy Dees

May 23, 2016 Review 0

When I picked up HER SECRET SPY, with its typically suspense-romance cover, I wasn’t expecting to be reviewing it for All Things Urban Fantasy; but it turns out that the main character, Lissa, has psychic powers and runs an occult curio shop. Suddenly, it was surprisingly up my alley! It also helps that the writing was better than the average Harlequin monthly.

Divider

Divider