Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Review: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

April 11, 2014 Review 1

While I am relatively new to the genres focused on here at All Things Urban Fantasy, I am not new to Ann Brashares. As an avid Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants fan, I was super excited to be able to read Brashares’ most recent book, THE HERE AND NOW.

Divider

Divider

Review: John Golden: Freelance Debugger (John Golden) by Django Wexler

Review: John Golden: Freelance Debugger (John Golden) by Django Wexler

March 6, 2014 Review 0

Reading JOHN GOLDEN: FREELANCE DEBUGGER was in a way refreshingly different from what I’ve been reading in the urban fantasy genre. The main reason for even picking up this book was to find out how a freelance debugger ‘debugged’ computers of fairies. I was not disappointed. It fuses fantasy with scifi and modern technology,

Divider

Review: Fire & Flood (Fire & Flood #1) by Victoria Scott

Review: Fire & Flood (Fire & Flood #1) by Victoria Scott

February 27, 2014 Review 1

The first novel in Victoria Scott’s new YA series is CATCHING FIRE, THE GOLDEN COMPASS, and The Amazing Race all rolled into one. But imagine if Katniss couldn’t hunt, or Lyra couldn’t communicate with Pantalaimon. Now imagine that they were still determined to do whatever it took to save those they loved and you’ll understand Tella Holloway’s dilemma in FIRE & FLOOD.

Divider

Review: Hammer of Angels (Shadowstorm #2) by G. T. Almasi

Review: Hammer of Angels (Shadowstorm #2) by G. T. Almasi

February 26, 2014 Review 0

While straying toward the science fiction spectrum of speculative fiction, HAMMER OF ANGELS nonetheless is likely to appeal to urban fantasy fans looking to shake up their reading habits. After all, the Shadowstorm series features a ass-kicking heroine with superhuman powers plus a cast of witty supporting characters set in a fictional world mirrored after our own – pretty much like every UF novel, it just so happens this one doesn’t have any magic and takes place in an alternate history where Germany won World War II.

Divider

Review: The Office of Mercy by Ariel Djanikian

Review: The Office of Mercy by Ariel Djanikian

February 11, 2014 Review 2

I’m going to be completely honest here and say what we’re all thinking – a comparison to both George Orwell and Suzanne Collins in the same sentence doesn’t exactly make sense, does it? And while I appreciate the publisher’s desire to pull in THE HUNGER GAMES’ audience, if you go into THE OFFICE OF MERCY looking for another Katniss, you’re going to be disappointed. Not because THE OFFICE OF MERCY is in any way inferior to THE HUNGER GAMES, but it’s a totally different type of book – in the same way that Collins and Orwell wrote very different works, even though they may both have books that take place in dystopian environments.

Divider

5!bat Early Review: Alienated (Alienated #1) by Melissa Landers

5!bat Early Review: Alienated (Alienated #1) by Melissa Landers

February 3, 2014 Review 1

This YA romance is given surprising depth with a background of xenophobia in a world not far removed from ours. At the center of Melissa Landers’ ALIENATED is the sweet and honest love story of Cara Sweeney and Aelyx of the L’eihr, an alien race that offers humanity a cancer cure upon making first contact. The parallels to present-day fears of ‘aliens’ are familiar without being heavy-handed or preachy, and we’re gifted with a protagonist who does not go easily into the role of L’eihr champion, but shows the reader exactly how and why she falls in love with one.

Divider

Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

January 6, 2014 Review 0

Before starting ERASED, the second book in the Altered series, I was tempted to go back to ALTERED for a skim-type of refresher, or to reread my review. I did neither and as it turns out, I didn’t need to. ERASED did a beautiful job of getting me back into Anna’s life, her world, and the events of the previous book. It also managed it without the sometimes off-putting repetition I’ve seen in other series books (Mythos Academy comes to mind).

Divider

Release Day Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Release Day Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

December 10, 2013 Review 0

A mashup of the story of the Titanic and Beth Reavis’s Across the Universe trilogy, THESE BROKEN STARS is part adventure, part thriller, and part romance. The first in the Starbound trilogy, THESE BROKEN STARS is one of those books that once you pick it up, you can’t put it down. I read the entire thing in a day – and writing this review was hard because I feel like I can’t do the book justice and explain how much I loved it.

Divider

Review: Chimera (MetaWars #4) by Kelly Meding

Review: Chimera (MetaWars #4) by Kelly Meding

November 16, 2013 Review 0

Fans of X-men and Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series will fall in love with the MetaWars. With scientific enhancements and mutations that are all but magic, this politically messy series contains a world that has remade itself over and over again. And despite that complexity, I jumped in with CHIMERA and found myself up to speed and invested from page one.

Divider