Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

Release Day Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Release Day Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

December 10, 2013 Review 0

A mashup of the story of the Titanic and Beth Reavis’s Across the Universe trilogy, THESE BROKEN STARS is part adventure, part thriller, and part romance. The first in the Starbound trilogy, THESE BROKEN STARS is one of those books that once you pick it up, you can’t put it down. I read the entire thing in a day – and writing this review was hard because I feel like I can’t do the book justice and explain how much I loved it.

Divider

Review: Chimera (MetaWars #4) by Kelly Meding

Review: Chimera (MetaWars #4) by Kelly Meding

November 16, 2013 Review 0

Fans of X-men and Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series will fall in love with the MetaWars. With scientific enhancements and mutations that are all but magic, this politically messy series contains a world that has remade itself over and over again. And despite that complexity, I jumped in with CHIMERA and found myself up to speed and invested from page one.

Divider

Divider

Release Day Review: Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst

Release Day Review: Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst

September 3, 2013 Review 0

There is always a challenge when it comes to characters who suffer from amnesia. It can feel like the reader is just as confused as they are. In CONJURED, Sarah Beth Durst handles this conundrum better than most by creating a hazy but still intriguing reality for her short-term memory challenged protagonist with surprising bursts of information well paced throughout the book. Oh and the literally magical kisses didn’t hurt.

Divider

Early 5bat! Review: All Our Yesterdays (Cassandra Chronicles #1) by Cristin Terrill

Early 5bat! Review: All Our Yesterdays (Cassandra Chronicles #1) by Cristin Terrill

September 2, 2013 Review 0

When I finished ALL OUR YESTERDAYS, the first in the Cassandra Chronicles duology, you could have knocked me over with a feather, and I would not have noticed. This is one of those books where in the last few pages you’re given what you feel is closure, and then boom! The author turns around and smacks you- not with a cliffhanger, but with the possibility of so much more, the understanding that just because the specific story being told ended, doesn’t mean there isn’t more to these characters that we’ve come to know over the 400 or so pages.

Divider

Review: Infinityglass (Hourglass #3) by Myra McEntire

Review: Infinityglass (Hourglass #3) by Myra McEntire

August 17, 2013 Review 3

Most YA series follow the same protagonist throughout the series, or they expand to include additional POVs. The Hourglass series has featured different protagonists for each book with increasingly minor cameos by the preceding protagonists. Whereas Emerson completely captivated in HOURGLASS, and to a lesser degree Kaleb in TIMEPIECE, neither Hallie nor Dune were compelling enough to finish this series on a high note in INFINITYGLASS.

Divider

Review: Warbound (Grimnoir Chronicles #3) by Larry Correia

Review: Warbound (Grimnoir Chronicles #3) by Larry Correia

August 11, 2013 Review 0

Not having read the previous two books in the Grimnoir Chronicles, I hesitated continuing with WARBOUND as I found myself neck deep in a highly complex and almost confusing story but the story was interesting enough for me to carry on just to figure out what happening. I had a hard time placing this book into a genre and with interdimensional battles and magic I simply settled for mash up of sci-fi, urban fantasy, alternate history, and steampunk.

Divider

Release Day Review: Linked (Linked #1) by Imogen Howson

Release Day Review: Linked (Linked #1) by Imogen Howson

June 11, 2013 Review 2

One of the biggest problems with any thriller set in a futuristic utopia is how the main character will be able to slip through the cracks. When everything is automated, when everyone is organized, where are the fringes that accommodate those on the run? When Elissa’s “illness” is revealed to be something more terrible than she ever imagined, the scope of this story expands from “teenage suburbia” to “the galaxy”, and it wasn’t until that change kicked in that I was really on board.

Divider

Review: Reboot (Reboot #1) by Amy Tintera

Review: Reboot (Reboot #1) by Amy Tintera

June 10, 2013 Review 0

High concept YAs are everywhere. In my experience they either work really well (DELIRIUM, THE PROGRAM) or really not (PULSE, THE WARD). REBOOT surprising falls somewhere in the middle. There is a very cool world where resurrected teens are enslaved and forced to police humans. They have heightened senses but a lack of emotion that correlates to the length of time they were dead before rebooting.

Divider

5bat! Review: Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

5bat! Review: Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

June 7, 2013 Review 4

There is no other way to say it- I inhaled this book. OBSESSION hit all my romance novel buttons, with the uber-alpha male, feisty female counterpart and loads of moments so sexy that I blushed. OBSESSION was one of those books where my inner feminist feels like she should be objecting to something, but then she gets a bit distracted by all the action and romance. In the end Serena brings Hunter to his knees anyways, so what if he’s a little bossy on the way?

Divider