Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

Review: The Office of Mercy by Ariel Djanikian

Review: The Office of Mercy by Ariel Djanikian

February 11, 2014 Review 2

I’m going to be completely honest here and say what we’re all thinking – a comparison to both George Orwell and Suzanne Collins in the same sentence doesn’t exactly make sense, does it? And while I appreciate the publisher’s desire to pull in THE HUNGER GAMES’ audience, if you go into THE OFFICE OF MERCY looking for another Katniss, you’re going to be disappointed. Not because THE OFFICE OF MERCY is in any way inferior to THE HUNGER GAMES, but it’s a totally different type of book – in the same way that Collins and Orwell wrote very different works, even though they may both have books that take place in dystopian environments.

Divider

5!bat Early Review: Alienated (Alienated #1) by Melissa Landers

5!bat Early Review: Alienated (Alienated #1) by Melissa Landers

February 3, 2014 Review 1

This YA romance is given surprising depth with a background of xenophobia in a world not far removed from ours. At the center of Melissa Landers’ ALIENATED is the sweet and honest love story of Cara Sweeney and Aelyx of the L’eihr, an alien race that offers humanity a cancer cure upon making first contact. The parallels to present-day fears of ‘aliens’ are familiar without being heavy-handed or preachy, and we’re gifted with a protagonist who does not go easily into the role of L’eihr champion, but shows the reader exactly how and why she falls in love with one.

Divider

Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

Review: Erased (Altered #2) by Jennifer Rush

January 6, 2014 Review 0

Before starting ERASED, the second book in the Altered series, I was tempted to go back to ALTERED for a skim-type of refresher, or to reread my review. I did neither and as it turns out, I didn’t need to. ERASED did a beautiful job of getting me back into Anna’s life, her world, and the events of the previous book. It also managed it without the sometimes off-putting repetition I’ve seen in other series books (Mythos Academy comes to mind).

Divider

Release Day Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Release Day Review: These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

December 10, 2013 Review 0

A mashup of the story of the Titanic and Beth Reavis’s Across the Universe trilogy, THESE BROKEN STARS is part adventure, part thriller, and part romance. The first in the Starbound trilogy, THESE BROKEN STARS is one of those books that once you pick it up, you can’t put it down. I read the entire thing in a day – and writing this review was hard because I feel like I can’t do the book justice and explain how much I loved it.

Divider

Review: Chimera (MetaWars #4) by Kelly Meding

Review: Chimera (MetaWars #4) by Kelly Meding

November 16, 2013 Review 0

Fans of X-men and Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series will fall in love with the MetaWars. With scientific enhancements and mutations that are all but magic, this politically messy series contains a world that has remade itself over and over again. And despite that complexity, I jumped in with CHIMERA and found myself up to speed and invested from page one.

Divider

Divider

Release Day Review: Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst

Release Day Review: Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst

September 3, 2013 Review 0

There is always a challenge when it comes to characters who suffer from amnesia. It can feel like the reader is just as confused as they are. In CONJURED, Sarah Beth Durst handles this conundrum better than most by creating a hazy but still intriguing reality for her short-term memory challenged protagonist with surprising bursts of information well paced throughout the book. Oh and the literally magical kisses didn’t hurt.

Divider

Early 5bat! Review: All Our Yesterdays (Cassandra Chronicles #1) by Cristin Terrill

Early 5bat! Review: All Our Yesterdays (Cassandra Chronicles #1) by Cristin Terrill

September 2, 2013 Review 0

When I finished ALL OUR YESTERDAYS, the first in the Cassandra Chronicles duology, you could have knocked me over with a feather, and I would not have noticed. This is one of those books where in the last few pages you’re given what you feel is closure, and then boom! The author turns around and smacks you- not with a cliffhanger, but with the possibility of so much more, the understanding that just because the specific story being told ended, doesn’t mean there isn’t more to these characters that we’ve come to know over the 400 or so pages.

Divider

Review: Infinityglass (Hourglass #3) by Myra McEntire

Review: Infinityglass (Hourglass #3) by Myra McEntire

August 17, 2013 Review 3

Most YA series follow the same protagonist throughout the series, or they expand to include additional POVs. The Hourglass series has featured different protagonists for each book with increasingly minor cameos by the preceding protagonists. Whereas Emerson completely captivated in HOURGLASS, and to a lesser degree Kaleb in TIMEPIECE, neither Hallie nor Dune were compelling enough to finish this series on a high note in INFINITYGLASS.

Divider

Review: Warbound (Grimnoir Chronicles #3) by Larry Correia

Review: Warbound (Grimnoir Chronicles #3) by Larry Correia

August 11, 2013 Review 0

Not having read the previous two books in the Grimnoir Chronicles, I hesitated continuing with WARBOUND as I found myself neck deep in a highly complex and almost confusing story but the story was interesting enough for me to carry on just to figure out what happening. I had a hard time placing this book into a genre and with interdimensional battles and magic I simply settled for mash up of sci-fi, urban fantasy, alternate history, and steampunk.

Divider