Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

Shades of Honor (Anomaly #2) by Sandy Williams

Shades of Honor (Anomaly #2) by Sandy Williams

November 4, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

SHADES OF HONOR continues the Anomaly series. The Anomaly series is a great military sci-fi series, that I feel can be enjoyed by urban fantasy readers and sci-fi readers alike. The heroine effectively has supernatural powers that make her one of the best soldiers in the Known Universe making her seem a lot like urban fantasy heroine.

Divider

Review: Feedback (Newsflesh #4), by Mira Grant

Review: Feedback (Newsflesh #4), by Mira Grant

October 17, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

It felt so good to fall back into the world of Mira Grant’s Newsflesh novels, that as I worked through the book, I read faster and faster until the dramatic conclusion. Medical paranoia and zombie based intrigue make for an exciting novel that brings back the excitement of reading the first three books in the series.

Divider

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

August 30, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

CURIODDITY starts a bit slowly, like a strange roller coaster. It’s a sluggish start, if well written, highlighting just how boring Wil’s life is at the beginning of the book. Luckily, we quickly nosedive into the action when it starts. I read the first thirty percent of the book in a few days, and the rest in a frenzied seventy-five minutes of madness.

Divider

5 Bat Review: The Champion of Barésh (Star World Frontier #1) by Susan Grant

5 Bat Review: The Champion of Barésh (Star World Frontier #1) by Susan Grant

August 24, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

This book is fabulous. Automatic new favourite.

I fell in love with Jemm, the main characters, from the first few pages of the book. She’s strong, she’s worried about her family and she wants a better life for them. She wants to follow her dreams, but the same sport that is putting food on their table is the one their mother claims killed her father. Oh, and girls aren’t allowed to play bahja, a kind of sensory-deprived fencing/martial art/yoga. Oops.

Divider

Audiobook Review: Salvage Trouble (Black Ocean #1) by J.S. Morin

Audiobook Review: Salvage Trouble (Black Ocean #1) by J.S. Morin

July 19, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

As a life long lover of science fiction and fantasy I’ve always searched for a great story that could combine the two genres. I’ve read/attempted to read many, many books that had magic in space, but none of them have been worth mentioning until I stumbled across SALVAGE TROUBLE on Audible a couple of weeks ago, and since then the Black Ocean series has been the only thing I’ve listened to as I quickly devoured the seven books that are up on Audible right now.

Divider

Divider

Review: Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

Review: Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

June 16, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

LOTUS AND THORN is one of those rare stand-alone young adult books in a sea of trilogies and series, and it is so full of awesome and crazy that it left me almost speechless at the end. (Almost, because obviously I have to write this review.) LOTUS AND THORN has fascinating world-building, a wide variety of well-developed characters and did I mention the awesome and crazy?

Divider

Review: Just One Damned Thing After Another (The Chronicles of St Mary’s #1), by Jodi Taylor

Review: Just One Damned Thing After Another (The Chronicles of St Mary’s #1), by Jodi Taylor

June 10, 2016 Review 1 ★★★★

While I was reading Just One Damned Thing After Another, I couldn’t stop thinking of another writer: Terry Pratchett. That has to be one of the highest praise I can give a book, and that was when I was only a few chapters in. It pressed all the right geeky buttons, while still managing to keep up the suspense and danger inherent in travelling back in time to observe critical moments in history.

Divider

Divider

Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

May 17, 2016 Review 2 ★★★★

I feel like COMPANY TOWN snuck up on me; at first I was reading a pretty good dystopian-type novel, and then BAM, it turned into a fabulous, terrifyingly too-close-for-comfort near scifi with interesting new concepts and amazingly real characters.

Divider