Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

Review: Penumbra (Spook Squad #3) by Keri Arthur

Review: Penumbra (Spook Squad #3) by Keri Arthur

October 24, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

PENUMBRA continues the quick pacing and action of the previous two books in this series. I liked figuring out just exactly what Sam is and how she fits into the vast network of government clones running amok around the world. I loved discovering Sam’s powers along with her and how she learns about them was fascinating.

Divider

Release Day Review: Stitching Snow by R. C. Lewis

Release Day Review: Stitching Snow by R. C. Lewis

October 14, 2014 Review 2 ★★★

A very creative take on the Snow White fairy tale, STITCHING SNOW has a brilliant heroine coupled with a stubborn and honorable hero, taking place in what appears to be a galaxy, far far away. While some of the plot points were a bit predictable, it was a diverting read, and a fun way to spend a few hours.

Divider

Early Review: Ghost Phoenix (The Phoenix Institute, #3) by Corrina Lawson

Early Review: Ghost Phoenix (The Phoenix Institute, #3) by Corrina Lawson

October 4, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★

I always enjoy it when a book takes characters from history and puts a twist on them as GHOST PHOENIX does with various famous figures from different points in time posing as immortals living in modern times. One issue I had with the story is the use of ‘California slang’ like ‘stellar’. I adored the fact that Richard Plantagenet is an immortal surfer dude but it

Divider

Review: Generation 18 (Spook Squad, #2) by Keri Arthur

Review: Generation 18 (Spook Squad, #2) by Keri Arthur

September 26, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

GENERATION 18 is the middle book in the Spook Squad series and it valiantly escapes the classic second book syndrome of not living up to the expectations of the previous book and being a dull set up to the expected major events of the third and last book. Its exciting, fun, and attention grabbing with mysteries wrapped around yet more mystery.

Divider

Divider

Review: House Immortal (House Immortal #1) by Devon Monk

Review: House Immortal (House Immortal #1) by Devon Monk

September 8, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Original and intriguing, HOUSE IMMORTAL falls closer to the science-fiction spectrum of books than urban fantasy. However, with the kickass heroine, powerful, near immortal beings, fun sidekicks, and original world, HOUSE IMMORTAL will definitely appeal to the standard urban fantasy reader.

Divider

Early Review: The Hot Zone (Rainshadow, #3) by Jayne Castle

Early Review: The Hot Zone (Rainshadow, #3) by Jayne Castle

August 25, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

THE HOT ZONE was one of those books that sort of fits into two genres. Its a paranormal romance of sorts yet it is also a sci-fi story set on a futuristic Earth colony. I had some trouble understanding exactly where Harmony was located. Are they on a moon once inhabited by aliens or some random planet far away from Earth? I really couldn’t figure it out but that didn’t hinder my enjoyment of this strange new world.

Divider

Review: Idols (Icons #2) by Margaret Stohl

Review: Idols (Icons #2) by Margaret Stohl

August 19, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

Whereas ICONS was a fast-paced, rush of a novel, IDOLS is a slow burn, with bits and pieces offered to the reader throughout, until the big reveal at the end. While not a bad thing, my expectation was for a higher level of action, and I was mildly disappointed at the resulting slowness.

Divider

Review: Magic City: Recent Spells edited by Paula Guran

Review: Magic City: Recent Spells edited by Paula Guran

June 21, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★

Short stories are a difficult form to master in any case, but when it comes to sci-fi and fantasy, the author has an even tougher challenge: building an entire world in just a few pages. As with any short-story collection featuring multiple authors, some of the contributions to MAGIC CITY: RECENT SPELLS, edited by Paula Guran, are more successful than others. Ultimately, I think the anthology does a great job of showcasing many different interpretations of ‘urban fantasy’ and gives readers the chance to discover something new.

Divider

Divider