Genre: Science Fiction

Divider

Release Day Review: Gauntlet (Arena #2), by Holly Jennings

Release Day Review: Gauntlet (Arena #2), by Holly Jennings

April 4, 2017 Review 0

GAUNTLET is all about seeking a balance — in life and in virtual reality. After exposing the corruption within the Virtual Gaming League, Kali Ling has a placed a target on her back. It turns out that owning a team is expensive, demanding, and a lot more responsibility than expected.

Divider

Divider

5Bat! Review: Finders Keepers, by Linnea Sinclair

5Bat! Review: Finders Keepers, by Linnea Sinclair

March 30, 2017 Review 2

This book is the ultimate blend of science-fiction and romance. It will leave you thinking about the world and characters long after you finish the book, wishing you could be back on Trilby’s ship for just a few more pages.

When Captain Trilby Elliot saves Rhis from a crash on a wild jungle planet, he tells her he’s a pilot who got lost. He promises his commanders will pay her to get him back to civilisation. She’s wary, but when he offers to help her finish the repairs she was making to her ship as well, she agrees to take him to the nearest space station – she’s seriously strapped for credits.

Divider

Review: Martians Abroad by Carrie Vaughn

Review: Martians Abroad by Carrie Vaughn

March 7, 2017 Review 0

Martians Abroad has a great premise. Kids who were born and grew up on Mars coming to Earth for school. Boarding school stories are a little over done, but they can still turn out to be great. However, as I started to read Martians Abroad I realized that a lot of the problem with the story was the original premise.

Divider

Shades of Honor (Anomaly #2) by Sandy Williams

Shades of Honor (Anomaly #2) by Sandy Williams

November 4, 2016 Review 0

SHADES OF HONOR continues the Anomaly series. The Anomaly series is a great military sci-fi series, that I feel can be enjoyed by urban fantasy readers and sci-fi readers alike. The heroine effectively has supernatural powers that make her one of the best soldiers in the Known Universe making her seem a lot like urban fantasy heroine.

Divider

Review: Feedback (Newsflesh #4), by Mira Grant

October 17, 2016 Review 0

It felt so good to fall back into the world of Mira Grant’s Newsflesh novels, that as I worked through the book, I read faster and faster until the dramatic conclusion. Medical paranoia and zombie based intrigue make for an exciting novel that brings back the excitement of reading the first three books in the series.

Divider

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

August 30, 2016 Review 0

CURIODDITY starts a bit slowly, like a strange roller coaster. It’s a sluggish start, if well written, highlighting just how boring Wil’s life is at the beginning of the book. Luckily, we quickly nosedive into the action when it starts. I read the first thirty percent of the book in a few days, and the rest in a frenzied seventy-five minutes of madness.

Divider

5 Bat Review: The Champion of Barésh (Star World Frontier #1) by Susan Grant

August 24, 2016 Review 0

This book is fabulous. Automatic new favourite.

I fell in love with Jemm, the main characters, from the first few pages of the book. She’s strong, she’s worried about her family and she wants a better life for them. She wants to follow her dreams, but the same sport that is putting food on their table is the one their mother claims killed her father. Oh, and girls aren’t allowed to play bahja, a kind of sensory-deprived fencing/martial art/yoga. Oops.

Divider

Audiobook Review: Salvage Trouble (Black Ocean #1) by J.S. Morin

Audiobook Review: Salvage Trouble (Black Ocean #1) by J.S. Morin

July 19, 2016 Review 0

As a life long lover of science fiction and fantasy I’ve always searched for a great story that could combine the two genres. I’ve read/attempted to read many, many books that had magic in space, but none of them have been worth mentioning until I stumbled across SALVAGE TROUBLE on Audible a couple of weeks ago, and since then the Black Ocean series has been the only thing I’ve listened to as I quickly devoured the seven books that are up on Audible right now.

Divider

Divider