Genre: Occult & Supernatural

Divider

Divider

Release Day Review: The Death and Life of Schneider Wrack  by Nate Crowley

Release Day Review: The Death and Life of Schneider Wrack by Nate Crowley

August 8, 2017 Review 0

I tried to read THE DEATH AND LIFE OF SCHNEIDER WRACK with my speed reading app but there were so many words that were gigantic or outright invented there was no way that my eyes could keep up at 300 and 400 words a minute. I’m glad I slowed down; when I did I started really enjoying this book that is more akin to Alice In Wonderland than it is to most other zombie books.

Divider

Review: Urban Enemies by Joseph Nassise, Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne, Seanan McGuire, Kelley Armstrong, Jonathan Maberry, Jeff Somers, Steven Savile, Caitlin Kittredge, Sam Witt, Craig Schaefer, Jon F. Merz, Faith Hunter, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Lilith Saintcrow, Carrie Vaughn, Domino Finn

Review: Urban Enemies by Joseph Nassise, Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne, Seanan McGuire, Kelley Armstrong, Jonathan Maberry, Jeff Somers, Steven Savile, Caitlin Kittredge, Sam Witt, Craig Schaefer, Jon F. Merz, Faith Hunter, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Lilith Saintcrow, Carrie Vaughn, Domino Finn

August 7, 2017 Review 1

URBAN ENEMIES is a pretty fun romp into the twisted minds of the bad guys from various urban fantasy series. There were of course some characters who I had no clue about. Luckily each story starts off with a general summary of the series the character(s) appear in so there was some idea of what was going on.

Divider

Review: Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing #1) by Vivian Shaw

Review: Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing #1) by Vivian Shaw

July 27, 2017 Review 1

While I enjoyed STRANGE PRACTICE overall, I couldn’t help feel a little duped. The series carries Greta’s name but she’s one of six POV characters. It was a disappointing realization because Greta was my hook into STRANGE PRACTICE. A descendant of Van Helsing runs a medical practice for the supernatural? Yes please.

Divider

Divider

Review: The Shadow Omnibus by Amy Braun

Review: The Shadow Omnibus by Amy Braun

June 23, 2017 Review 0

Being a collection of short stories, THE SHADOW OMNIBUS was a pretty quick and fun read with five haunting tales of horror and adventure. I was clued in to the fact that this was a collection of short stories by one author and not five after wondering at the similarities of the writing styles and lack of author list.

Divider

Review: The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano

Review: The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano

June 16, 2017 Review 0

THE SUFFERING TREE has themes teens will identify with but the plot holes and writing style overwhelm and distract from the overall novel. Tori Burns and her family move to Chaptico when they are bequeathed a house and plot of land in a will. After her father’s death, Tori is depressed and angry. She’s a cutter who already feels like she doesn’t fit in, and living in the close-knit town just isolates her further.

Divider

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

June 15, 2017 Review 0

In THE HUSH, there’s music and there’s Music. One is magical, there other isn’t. Untrained Musicians (capital M) are considered blasphemers. They are hunted down and executed since the only people that should harness the Song are Songshapers. So much of THE HUSH is balanced on the world-building. If you’re not completely enthralled then the ending of the novel loses its impact.

Divider

Review: City of Ghosts (GhostWriters Book 1)

Review: City of Ghosts (GhostWriters Book 1)

May 17, 2017 Review 0

It takes far too long for CITY OF GHOSTS to get started. Plot and character development is pushed to the second half of the novel, leaving the first half aimless. The revealed backstories aren’t enough to humanize characters who have spent the entirety of the novel telling us how women are just the worst.

Divider

Review: Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow

Review: Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow

May 9, 2017 Review 0

SHARP TEETH is one of the best books of poetry I have ever read and one of the most enchanting books about werewolves ever. It is a story about dogs and homeless people. It’s about living on the beach in LA. It’s about picking up strays, both the canine and the human kind. SHARP TEETH is also a mystery about drugs and control, with meth labs and police officers and chases.

Divider