Genre: Occult & Supernatural

Divider

Review: The Shadow Omnibus by Amy Braun

Review: The Shadow Omnibus by Amy Braun

June 23, 2017 Review 0

Being a collection of short stories, THE SHADOW OMNIBUS was a pretty quick and fun read with five haunting tales of horror and adventure. I was clued in to the fact that this was a collection of short stories by one author and not five after wondering at the similarities of the writing styles and lack of author list.

Divider

Review: The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano

Review: The Suffering Tree by Elle Cosimano

June 16, 2017 Review 0

THE SUFFERING TREE has themes teens will identify with but the plot holes and writing style overwhelm and distract from the overall novel. Tori Burns and her family move to Chaptico when they are bequeathed a house and plot of land in a will. After her father’s death, Tori is depressed and angry. She’s a cutter who already feels like she doesn’t fit in, and living in the close-knit town just isolates her further.

Divider

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

June 15, 2017 Review 0

In THE HUSH, there’s music and there’s Music. One is magical, there other isn’t. Untrained Musicians (capital M) are considered blasphemers. They are hunted down and executed since the only people that should harness the Song are Songshapers. So much of THE HUSH is balanced on the world-building. If you’re not completely enthralled then the ending of the novel loses its impact.

Divider

Review: City of Ghosts (GhostWriters Book 1)

Review: City of Ghosts (GhostWriters Book 1)

May 17, 2017 Review 0

It takes far too long for CITY OF GHOSTS to get started. Plot and character development is pushed to the second half of the novel, leaving the first half aimless. The revealed backstories aren’t enough to humanize characters who have spent the entirety of the novel telling us how women are just the worst.

Divider

Review: Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow

Review: Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow

May 9, 2017 Review 0

SHARP TEETH is one of the best books of poetry I have ever read and one of the most enchanting books about werewolves ever. It is a story about dogs and homeless people. It’s about living on the beach in LA. It’s about picking up strays, both the canine and the human kind. SHARP TEETH is also a mystery about drugs and control, with meth labs and police officers and chases.

Divider

Review: Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire

Review: Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire

April 21, 2017 Review 0

This gorgeous illustrated novel is one of the scarier things I have read. Nearly a collection of short stories, the tale is told by three strangers around the table of an inn. It’s a story about war, plague, human weakness and vampires.

These vampires are original and disgusting. The translation of the horrors of the Great War as literal monsters is very effective.

Divider

Review: Johannes Cabal The Necromancer (Johannes Cabal #1) by Jonathan L. Howard

Review: Johannes Cabal The Necromancer (Johannes Cabal #1) by Jonathan L. Howard

March 29, 2017 Review 0

This book drew me in from about ten feet away on the shelf. The whole thing is beautiful and feels old in your hand. The story of Johannes Cabal’s fight with the devil takes place in a demonic fair ground, where he is charged with stealing away 100 people’s souls in a year in order to exchange it for his own (which he carelessly sold to the devil a few years back – he figured a scientist wouldn’t need it!).

Divider

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

March 28, 2017 Review 0

MAGIC FOR NOTHING took me a little bit longer to get into than other InCryptid novels. I’m not sure if it’s because of the new narrator – the youngest of the Price siblings, Antimony – or if it was because so much of the beginning relied on the backlash of the previous book. Once we got into the swing of things though – trapeze joke! – I really enjoyed it.

Divider

Divider

5 Bat! Review: Midnight Curse (Disrupted Magic #1), by Melissa F. Olson

5 Bat! Review: Midnight Curse (Disrupted Magic #1), by Melissa F. Olson

February 9, 2017 Review 0

MIDNIGHT CURSE is the first in the Disrupted Magic series, but is actually the 10th novel written in the Old World Chronology series by Melissa F. Olson. I didn’t realise it was part of a larger series until after I had finished it, and I didn’t feel like I missed anything by not reading the previous books.

Divider