Genre: Historical

Divider

5bats! Review & Giveaway: A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire #1) by Jessica Cluess

5bats! Review & Giveaway: A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire #1) by Jessica Cluess

September 21, 2016 Review 6 ★★★★★

A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING was one of my most anticipated books of the fall. I’ve been looking forward to it since March. So you can imagine how happy I was that it lived up to my high expectations. Honestly, this book just killed me. There were moments that were like a kick to the stomach. There were moments where I was so happy for Henrietta. It was an up and down rollercoaster of emotions that I loved every second of.

Divider

Review: City of Wolves by Willow Palecek

Review: City of Wolves by Willow Palecek

September 13, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

CITY OF WOLVES is an enjoyable novella. I loved the main character, the sense of humor, and the world building, but I felt there were some aspects that were unnecessary and distracting, something which is all the more obvious in a novella length piece, where every word counts.

Divider

Review: Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper Romance #1) by Nancy Campbell Allen

Review: Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper Romance #1) by Nancy Campbell Allen

August 22, 2016 Review 0 ★★★

Anybody who has read this blog for any amount of time knows how much I am in love with fairy tale retellings. And my favorite are always Beauty and the Beast. So when BEAUTY AND THE CLOCKWORK BEAST showed up on Netgalley, I knew I had to read it! While I had some issues with the beginning of BEAUTY AND THE CLOCKWORK BEAST, it did manage to improve, and by the end of the book I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Divider

Divider

Review: Just One Damned Thing After Another (The Chronicles of St Mary’s #1), by Jodi Taylor

Review: Just One Damned Thing After Another (The Chronicles of St Mary’s #1), by Jodi Taylor

June 10, 2016 Review 1 ★★★★

While I was reading Just One Damned Thing After Another, I couldn’t stop thinking of another writer: Terry Pratchett. That has to be one of the highest praise I can give a book, and that was when I was only a few chapters in. It pressed all the right geeky buttons, while still managing to keep up the suspense and danger inherent in travelling back in time to observe critical moments in history.

Divider

Review: The Deepest Well (Age of Gray #1) by Juliette Cross

Review: The Deepest Well (Age of Gray #1) by Juliette Cross

February 12, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

A sweeping romance that spans centuries, THE DEEPEST WELL is a spin-off of the dark and sexy Vessel Trilogy. THE DEEPEST WELL bookends the Vessel Trilogy, with the action taking place both before and after that series, and I think the people who will most enjoy this book are those who have already read it.

Divider

Release Day Review:  The Casquette Girls (The Casquette Girls #1) by Alys Arden

Release Day Review: The Casquette Girls (The Casquette Girls #1) by Alys Arden

November 17, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

THE CASQUETTE GIRLS is a fascinating and haunting paranormal YA novel. The plot starts off a tad slow though once it gets started it really moves. It’s a tale that takes some of New Orleans’ more famous ghost and vampire stories and gives them an even more sinister bent. I loved the setting as its a city so entrenched in mystery and has its own very colorful history.

Divider

Review:  Pale Moon Walking by Paula Altenburg

Review: Pale Moon Walking by Paula Altenburg

November 12, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

Pale Moon Walking is a brilliant blend of the Wild West and aliens and at the center a strong romance between two very tough, independent characters. We have gunslingers, small desert towns mixed with government conspiracies, military experimentation, and mysterious aliens.

Divider

Early Review: The Bloodforged (Bloodbound #2) by Erin Lindsey

Early Review: The Bloodforged (Bloodbound #2) by Erin Lindsey

September 25, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

Classic sword and sorcery, but by no means a simple story, BLOODFORGED explores the intricacies of politics, war, and marrying your ex-boyfriend’s brother. In this universe “victory” is more nuanced than defeating a single villain or weakness, forcing Alix and company to face heartbreakingly real obstacles as they fight for the alliances and resources that can turn the tide of a losing war. And upon this stage of high adventure and higher stakes, Lindsay’s characters sparkle with wit, emotion, and relationships that ring true.

Divider

Review: Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood #1) by Jessica Day George

Review: Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood #1) by Jessica Day George

July 23, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

SILVER IN THE BLOOD was a book I was very much looking forward to reading. The beautiful cover and author alone (I loved DRAGON SLIPPERS) was enough to intrigue me, and I didn’t even bother reading the description. So going in a bit blind, I was very happy when SILVER IN THE BLOOD lived up to my expectations.

Divider