Genre: Fantasy

Divider

Review:  The Diamond Conspiracy (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences #4) by Pip Ballantine, Tee Morris

Review: The Diamond Conspiracy (Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences #4) by Pip Ballantine, Tee Morris

March 30, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

THE DIAMOND CONSPIRACY is full of steampunk awesomeness as I thought this whole series would be just from reading the story summary of PHOENIX RISING. It has everything from weird steampunk weapons and tricked out vehicles to intense action and some romance thrown in as well. Add a mad scientist doing creepy experiments and secrets upon secrets and this book is filled with so much delicious ideas.

Divider

5bat! Review: Shadow Scale (Seraphina #2) by Rachel Hartman

5bat! Review: Shadow Scale (Seraphina #2) by Rachel Hartman

March 27, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★★

When there is a significant wait between two related books, such as the wait (almost three years!) between SERAPHINA and SHADOW SCALE, I begin to doubt my impressions of the first book. This was the case here, as I began to worry that I had imagined how wonderful I thought SERAPHINA was and how there was no way that SHADOW SCALE could live up to the expectations I’d set up in my head. Luckily, SHADOW SCALE delivered on all my expectations and more.

Divider

Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol, #1) by Gail Carriger

Review: Prudence (The Custard Protocol, #1) by Gail Carriger

March 17, 2015 Review 2 ★★★★

I was so excited to hear that there was going to be a new series dedicated to Prudence, the daughter of Conall and Alexia Maccon from the Parasol Protectorate series. Prudence was such an interesting child who could steal the abilities of any supernatural she touched that a whole new series dedicated to her hijinks as a young adult just had to be written. PRUDENCE is an absolute delight with dangerous new creatures and high skies dirgible adventures, odd new supernatural characters and mysteries, and the typical witty fancifullness I’ve come to expect and enjoy from Gail Carriger’s work.

Divider

Review:  Wicked Dark Dragon (Dragon Heat, #3) by Lolita Lopez

Review: Wicked Dark Dragon (Dragon Heat, #3) by Lolita Lopez

March 13, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

I enjoy reading about dragon shifters in general and I like the concept of the Dragon Heat series with its epic war between dragons and knights spanning over generations. WICKED DARK DRAGON expands on the intriguing mythology giving a basis for the hatred between dragons and knights.

Divider

5bat! Audiobook Review: The Hidden Masters of Marandur (The Pillars of Reality #2) by Jack Campbell

5bat! Audiobook Review: The Hidden Masters of Marandur (The Pillars of Reality #2) by Jack Campbell

February 19, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★★

I may be a little biased because Jack Campbell is my favorite living author, but I loved THE HIDDEN MASTERS OF MARANDUR. This book picks up about two weeks after THE DRAGONS OF DORCASTLE ended, and you’re thrown right into the action. The intense battle and action scenes are one of the places where Campbell’s writing really shines. There are a lot of urban and epic fantasy novels that make me cringe when I read their battles, but Campbell’s years of military experience help him write realistic battles.

Divider

Release Day Review:  The Diabolical Miss Hyde (Electric Empire #1) by Viola Carr

Release Day Review: The Diabolical Miss Hyde (Electric Empire #1) by Viola Carr

February 10, 2015 Review 3 ★★★★

THE DIABOLICAL MISS HYDE was an entertaining twist on the classic tale of THE STRANGE CASE OF DR. JEKYLL AND MR. HYDE. I love a good murder mystery and one where the protagonist in part doesn’t know if she is the killer makes for an especially juicy story. The story, like the kind upright Dr. Eliza Jekyll is split in narration between her and her more brash and violent alter ego Lizzie Hyde.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Review: Pacific Fire (Daniel Blackland #2) by Greg van Eekhout

Review: Pacific Fire (Daniel Blackland #2) by Greg van Eekhout

January 26, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

A very satisfying follow-up to Greg van Eekhout’s CALIFORNIA BONES, PACIFIC FIRE picks up ten years later when a collective of loosely allied osteomancers finally decide to fill the power vacuum created by the death of the Los Angeles Hierarch. Unfortunately for Daniel Blackland, former thief-turned-fugitive, their plan for mass destruction requires the sacrifice of the boy Daniel has spent a decade trying to protect. PACIFIC FIRE opens van Eekhout’s world of bone magic a little wider, and is still populated by the sorts of characters that made the first book so much fun to read. Once again, it’s a slow build leading into a hurried ending, but it’s a ride definitely worth taking.

Divider

Review: There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

Review: There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

January 23, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

THERE WILL BE LIES isn’t the typical book you’d find here on All Things Urban Fantasy, but I felt it was one worth sharing. With this thriller, Nick Lake has written a book that is really difficult to review without spoilers, but I’ll do my best.

Divider