Genre: Fantasy

Divider

Review:  Much of Madness (Conexus Chronicles #1) by S.E. Summa

Review: Much of Madness (Conexus Chronicles #1) by S.E. Summa

May 21, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

MUCH OF MADNESS wraps you up in a magical world full of mystery and suspense. I really enjoyed this story although my one issue was that I kept feeling like I was missing some key information that was covered in a previous book which is odd since this is the first book in a series.

Divider

Review: The Voodoo Killings: A Kincaid Strange Novel, by Kristi Charish

Review: The Voodoo Killings: A Kincaid Strange Novel, by Kristi Charish

May 15, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Kincaid Sinclair has just had her livelihood made illegal, discovers a ghost trap in her lobby and now a random zombie shows up at her favourite bar… She’s having a rough day in Seattle. And of course, it’s raining.

THE VOODOO KILLINGS takes place in the wet, ghost-filled world of Seattle, where a new police chief has put a stop on using mediums to question murder victims and witnesses, either in zombie or ghost form. Overnight, Kincaid has lost her main source of income and her Detective boyfriend too. He says it’s not related, but she figures it is; when you raise the dead for a living, you gotta trust your gut feeling.

Divider

Review: A Daring Sacrifice (An Uncertain Choice #2) by Jody Hedlund

Review: A Daring Sacrifice (An Uncertain Choice #2) by Jody Hedlund

May 3, 2016 Review 4 ★★

The legend and myth of Robin Hood has always fascinated me. The tale of a guerrilla stealing from the looting rulers and giving back to the producers has always been a story that has resonated with me. So I’m always drawn to Robin Hood books. Most of them aren’t that original, but I still enjoy the retelling from a different authors perspective. So when I first clicked on A DARING SACRIFICE and found out it was a Robin Hood retelling, but with a female Robin Hood, I was thrilled. This was just the new twist I was looking for on the Robin Hood legend. However, I was quickly disappointing.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Review: Ironheart, by Nico Rosso

Review: Ironheart, by Nico Rosso

March 17, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

IRONHEART has everything I want in a short story: steaming hot romance from the get-go, an easy to follow if dramatic plot, a limited cast of characters that I could love to hear more about, and super powers don’t hurt either. Every since I read KARMA GIRL by Jennifer Estep, super hero romances have had a place in my heart, and IRONHEART has just been added to my favourite short story list.

Divider

5 Bats! Review: The Reburialists, by J.C. Nelson

5 Bats! Review: The Reburialists, by J.C. Nelson

March 14, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

I didn’t know I needed a fabulous Egyptian-inspired zombie killing novel in my life, but now that I have devoured THE REBURIALISTS, I will be recommending it to everyone at the top of my lungs. It’s equal parts clever and exciting, with a dash of horror and a fun love story.

The world is complicated enough without having to cut the tendons of your dead relatives and get their mouths sewn shut in case a Re-Animus decides to take it for a ride after you bury it. You’re better off cremating it, if you can afford it. Where zombies rising is common place, the BSI (Bureau of Special Investigations) takes care of putting the dead back where they belong, and Brynner Carson is their hero.

Divider

Review:  Chaos Choreography (InCryptid #5) by Seanan McGuire

Review: Chaos Choreography (InCryptid #5) by Seanan McGuire

March 12, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

I loved getting back to Verity’s storyline in CHAOS CHOREOGRAPHY and especially loved that my silent wish was answered which was to have Dance or Die be in the actual story instead of being constantly referenced to. The dance competition reality show was my favorite part of the story and part of this is due to my love of dance competition reality shows.

Divider

Release Day Review:  Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs

Release Day Review: Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs

March 8, 2016 Review 1 ★★★★

FIRE TOUCHED is another brilliantly magical book in the Mercy Thompson series. Typically I’d start to complain by the 9th book in a series that all of this has happened before and (mostly likely) will all happen again. With this series there really is little if no repetition of plot points that I can remember happening. Some new danger is always around the corner for Mercy to battle.

Divider

Audiobook Review: The Family Trade (The Merchant Princes #1) by Charles Stross

Audiobook Review: The Family Trade (The Merchant Princes #1) by Charles Stross

March 5, 2016 Review 2 ★★★★

THE FAMILY TRADE isn’t Urban Fantasy or Paranormal Romance, and it’s hard for me to really classify it other than by using the broader term speculative fiction. But I enjoyed it so much I wanted to write a review about it. THE FAMILY TRADE follows a reporter, Miriam Beckstein, who quickly finds herself caught up in another dimension when she discovers that she has the very rare ability to “world walk.” Court intrigue, assassinations, and hidden romance fill THE FAMILY TRADE.

Divider