Genre: Dystopia

Divider

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

June 15, 2017 Review 0

In THE HUSH, there’s music and there’s Music. One is magical, there other isn’t. Untrained Musicians (capital M) are considered blasphemers. They are hunted down and executed since the only people that should harness the Song are Songshapers. So much of THE HUSH is balanced on the world-building. If you’re not completely enthralled then the ending of the novel loses its impact.

Divider

Divider

Review: Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

Review: Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

June 16, 2016 Review 0

LOTUS AND THORN is one of those rare stand-alone young adult books in a sea of trilogies and series, and it is so full of awesome and crazy that it left me almost speechless at the end. (Almost, because obviously I have to write this review.) LOTUS AND THORN has fascinating world-building, a wide variety of well-developed characters and did I mention the awesome and crazy?

Divider

Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

May 17, 2016 Review 2

I feel like COMPANY TOWN snuck up on me; at first I was reading a pretty good dystopian-type novel, and then BAM, it turned into a fabulous, terrifyingly too-close-for-comfort near scifi with interesting new concepts and amazingly real characters.

Divider

Audiobook Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Audiobook Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

February 19, 2016 Review 1

I really enjoyed Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series, and I loved her Bloodlines series, so I was eager to try SOUNDLESS and see what she could do in a different world. However, I wasn’t pulled into SOUNDLESS in the same way I was the Vampire Academy universe.

Divider

Review: The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace #1) by Erin Bow

Review: The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace #1) by Erin Bow

October 22, 2015 Review 0

So I’m a bit biased, as I tend to love books with robots and artificial intelligence, but THE SCORPION RULES was spectacular. Full of intrigue, plot twists, drama and robots, it felt intense from beginning to end, keeping me on the edge of my seat as I breathlessly rushed to finish it.

Divider

Review: The Affinities by Robert Charles Wilson

Review: The Affinities by Robert Charles Wilson

May 13, 2015 Review 1

Lost in a crowd? Need to find yourself? A place where you just belong? THE AFFINITIES introduces a wonderful/scary world where finding your place in the world is simply an inexpensive test away; and if you don’t fit into any of the 22 standard profiles, or affinities, you even get your money back!

Divider

Review: Infinity Bell (House Immortal #2) by Devon Monk

Review: Infinity Bell (House Immortal #2) by Devon Monk

March 12, 2015 Review 0

INFINITY BELL, the second book in the House Immortal series, shows that Devon Monk just doesn’t know when to let up – in a good way! INFINITY BELL really takes the reader on a wild ride, throwing them from one conflict to the next, with smooth writing allowing for an excellent reading experience.

Divider

Review: The Invisible (Brokenhearted #2) by Amelia Kahaney

Review: The Invisible (Brokenhearted #2) by Amelia Kahaney

October 31, 2014 Review 0

While it didn’t manage to pack quite the emotional punch as THE BROKENHEARTED, THE INVISIBLE has it’s own way of twisting the reader’s heartstrings. A thrilling and action-packed follow-up to THE BROKENHEARTED, THE INVISIBLE will grab readers from the beginning and remind them why they loved book one so much.

Divider

Review: Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch

Review: Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch

October 14, 2014 Review 1

Though the world of SNOW LIKE ASHES by Sara Raasch is a bit uninspired in its construction, Raasch more than makes up for kingdoms named after seasons and capital cities named for misspelled calendar months with Meira and the other refugees of the Kingdom of Winter. An aspiring soldier, desperate to be important to her people and her lost homeland, sixteen-year-old Meira struggles with being kept off the battlefield and forced into a world of political machinations. She’s a pawn, she’s a symbol, she’s a hero – much like THE HUNGER GAMES Katniss, all Meira really knows is that she wants to survive. That, and she’s in love with her best friend, the once and future king.

Divider