Genre: Dystopia

Divider

Review: The Beauty, Vol. 1 (The Beauty) by Jeremy Haun, Jason A. Hurley

Review: The Beauty, Vol. 1 (The Beauty) by Jeremy Haun, Jason A. Hurley

September 8, 2017 Review 0

If you were one sexual encounter away from being permanently beautiful, would you do it? In Image Comics’ THE BEAUTY, physical perfection is a sexually transmitted disease and a lot of people have taken the plunge. Despite the constant low-level fever all the infected have, there’s no harm in it, is there?

Divider

Release Day Review: The Death and Life of Schneider Wrack  by Nate Crowley

Release Day Review: The Death and Life of Schneider Wrack by Nate Crowley

August 8, 2017 Review 0

I tried to read THE DEATH AND LIFE OF SCHNEIDER WRACK with my speed reading app but there were so many words that were gigantic or outright invented there was no way that my eyes could keep up at 300 and 400 words a minute. I’m glad I slowed down; when I did I started really enjoying this book that is more akin to Alice In Wonderland than it is to most other zombie books.

Divider

Review: The Cityborn by Edward Willett

Review: The Cityborn by Edward Willett

July 21, 2017 Review 0

THE CITYBORN is fueled by its dystopian society. In a place only known as ‘The City’, there are clear lines between the rich and the poor. There can so much intrigue to a class-ruled dystopia. It’s always fun learn about how these strange societies are built ,and it’s even better to watch them fall. Unfortunately, the City was a cipher for too much of the book.

Divider

5bat! Review: A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge

5bat! Review: A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge

July 3, 2017 Review 0

In A FACE LIKE GLASS your face will freeze like that. Maybe it’ll be stuck in Face No. 456, Joyous Rapture at Excellent Characters, or Face No. 943, Unbridled Excitement for Plot Development. Either way, you’ll be smiling throughout. In the world of Caverna facial expressions have to be taught. The poor only know a few expressions (happy and dutiful) while the rich learn all the intricacies.

Divider

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

Review: The Hush by Skye Melki-Wegner

June 15, 2017 Review 0

In THE HUSH, there’s music and there’s Music. One is magical, there other isn’t. Untrained Musicians (capital M) are considered blasphemers. They are hunted down and executed since the only people that should harness the Song are Songshapers. So much of THE HUSH is balanced on the world-building. If you’re not completely enthralled then the ending of the novel loses its impact.

Divider

Divider

Review: Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

Review: Lotus and Thorn by Sara Wilson Etienne

June 16, 2016 Review 0

LOTUS AND THORN is one of those rare stand-alone young adult books in a sea of trilogies and series, and it is so full of awesome and crazy that it left me almost speechless at the end. (Almost, because obviously I have to write this review.) LOTUS AND THORN has fascinating world-building, a wide variety of well-developed characters and did I mention the awesome and crazy?

Divider

Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

May 17, 2016 Review 2

I feel like COMPANY TOWN snuck up on me; at first I was reading a pretty good dystopian-type novel, and then BAM, it turned into a fabulous, terrifyingly too-close-for-comfort near scifi with interesting new concepts and amazingly real characters.

Divider

Audiobook Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

Audiobook Review: Soundless by Richelle Mead

February 19, 2016 Review 1

I really enjoyed Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series, and I loved her Bloodlines series, so I was eager to try SOUNDLESS and see what she could do in a different world. However, I wasn’t pulled into SOUNDLESS in the same way I was the Vampire Academy universe.

Divider

Review: The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace #1) by Erin Bow

Review: The Scorpion Rules (Prisoners of Peace #1) by Erin Bow

October 22, 2015 Review 0

So I’m a bit biased, as I tend to love books with robots and artificial intelligence, but THE SCORPION RULES was spectacular. Full of intrigue, plot twists, drama and robots, it felt intense from beginning to end, keeping me on the edge of my seat as I breathlessly rushed to finish it.

Divider