Posts Categorized: Mass Market Paperback

Divider

Review: Never Dare a Dragon (Boston Dragons #3), by Ashlyn Chase

Review: Never Dare a Dragon (Boston Dragons #3), by Ashlyn Chase

August 3, 2017 Review 0

Authors sometimes make confusing choices, adding a mythology or a plot twist that is such unnecessary deus ex machina that it almost ruins a book. NEVER DARE A DRAGON has characters who feel real,  and it’s disappointing to have most of their problems disappear in the last quarter of the book.

Divider

Early Review: Accidental Sire (Half-Moon Hollow #6) by Molly Harper

Early Review: Accidental Sire (Half-Moon Hollow #6) by Molly Harper

July 24, 2017 Review 0

In ACCIDENTAL SIRE, Harper brings the Half Moon Hollow series back to Half Moon Hollow, and with it, brings in many favorite characters from throughout the series, with nearly everybody making at least a small cameo. I wouldn’t say that the description of the book is completely accurate, though, as it makes it sound like Ben is the focus, not even mentioning Megan, the main character of the book (the one who accidentally gets turned into a vampire). 

Divider

Review: Shadow Reaper (Shadow #2) by Christine Feehan

Review: Shadow Reaper (Shadow #2) by Christine Feehan

June 19, 2017 Review 0

With SHADOW REAPER, Feehan has managed to improve a series I already enjoyed. The part I liked, the sexy and dark vibe, was maintained, but the main characters felt more realistic and not so over-the-top. Also, the very original world continues to grow, and I find myself looking forward to all of the Ferraro siblings’ stories!

Divider

Review: Borrowed Souls (Soul Charmer #1) by Chelsea Mueller

Review: Borrowed Souls (Soul Charmer #1) by Chelsea Mueller

June 5, 2017 Review 0

BORROWED SOULS started out really strong! Promising characters were surrounded in a richly developed world with an awesome magic system… That’s all there ever was though. I wanted to love this book, but the great start fell flat as nothing happened throughout the rest of BORROWED SOULS.

Divider

5bat! Release Day Review: White Hot (Hidden Legacy #2) by Ilona Andrews

5bat! Release Day Review: White Hot (Hidden Legacy #2) by Ilona Andrews

May 30, 2017 Review 0

With the long wait for WHITE HOT to be released, I was a little concerned that my expectations had gotten a bit too high. Luckily, WHITE HOT met and exceeded those expectations, leaving me ready to re-read as soon as I was finished. WHITE HOT is nearly perfect paranormal romance: excellent world building coupled with three-dimensional characters, and a great plot line to top it off.

Divider

Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi Charish

Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi Charish

May 29, 2017 Review 1

A step up from its predecessors, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI is a welcome departure from the all-action, little-plot formula readers are familiar with from the first two novels. Delving deeper into supernatural politics, and significantly raising the stakes, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI shows an maturation of both Charish’s writing, and the main character, Owl.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Review: Her True Match (X-Ops #6) by Paige Tyler

Review: Her True Match (X-Ops #6) by Paige Tyler

April 7, 2017 Review 0

I don’t know why Paige Tyler’s two series are so different, but where I adore the SWAT (Secret Werewolf Alpha Team) series, the X-Ops series just isn’t my cup of tea. It’s not as fun as the first, and the characters aren’t as likeable or deep.

Divider

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

March 28, 2017 Review 0

MAGIC FOR NOTHING took me a little bit longer to get into than other InCryptid novels. I’m not sure if it’s because of the new narrator – the youngest of the Price siblings, Antimony – or if it was because so much of the beginning relied on the backlash of the previous book. Once we got into the swing of things though – trapeze joke! – I really enjoyed it.

Divider