Posts Categorized: Mass Market Paperback

Divider

Review: Shadow Reaper (Shadow #2) by Christine Feehan

Review: Shadow Reaper (Shadow #2) by Christine Feehan

June 19, 2017 Review 0

With SHADOW REAPER, Feehan has managed to improve a series I already enjoyed. The part I liked, the sexy and dark vibe, was maintained, but the main characters felt more realistic and not so over-the-top. Also, the very original world continues to grow, and I find myself looking forward to all of the Ferraro siblings’ stories!

Divider

Review: Borrowed Souls (Soul Charmer #1) by Chelsea Mueller

Review: Borrowed Souls (Soul Charmer #1) by Chelsea Mueller

June 5, 2017 Review 0

BORROWED SOULS started out really strong! Promising characters were surrounded in a richly developed world with an awesome magic system… That’s all there ever was though. I wanted to love this book, but the great start fell flat as nothing happened throughout the rest of BORROWED SOULS.

Divider

5bat! Release Day Review: White Hot (Hidden Legacy #2) by Ilona Andrews

5bat! Release Day Review: White Hot (Hidden Legacy #2) by Ilona Andrews

May 30, 2017 Review 0

With the long wait for WHITE HOT to be released, I was a little concerned that my expectations had gotten a bit too high. Luckily, WHITE HOT met and exceeded those expectations, leaving me ready to re-read as soon as I was finished. WHITE HOT is nearly perfect paranormal romance: excellent world building coupled with three-dimensional characters, and a great plot line to top it off.

Divider

Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi Charish

Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi Charish

May 29, 2017 Review 1

A step up from its predecessors, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI is a welcome departure from the all-action, little-plot formula readers are familiar with from the first two novels. Delving deeper into supernatural politics, and significantly raising the stakes, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI shows an maturation of both Charish’s writing, and the main character, Owl.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Review: Her True Match (X-Ops #6) by Paige Tyler

Review: Her True Match (X-Ops #6) by Paige Tyler

April 7, 2017 Review 0

I don’t know why Paige Tyler’s two series are so different, but where I adore the SWAT (Secret Werewolf Alpha Team) series, the X-Ops series just isn’t my cup of tea. It’s not as fun as the first, and the characters aren’t as likeable or deep.

Divider

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

March 28, 2017 Review 0

MAGIC FOR NOTHING took me a little bit longer to get into than other InCryptid novels. I’m not sure if it’s because of the new narrator – the youngest of the Price siblings, Antimony – or if it was because so much of the beginning relied on the backlash of the previous book. Once we got into the swing of things though – trapeze joke! – I really enjoyed it.

Divider

Early Review: Immortal Unchained (Argeneau #25), by Lynsay Sands

Early Review: Immortal Unchained (Argeneau #25), by Lynsay Sands

March 20, 2017 Review 0

IMMORTAL UNCHAINED is the twenty-fifth book in the Argeneau series, and I’m sad to say it is the last one I will read. It wasn’t so much that it was bad, but it was so similar to so many other things that have happened in previous books that I felt I was reading the same passages over and over again. Although the 23rd book had me excited for the new direction the series was taking, when we got there, it wasn’t worth it.

Divider

Early Review: How To Tame a Beast in Seven Days (The Embraced #1), by Kerrelyn Sparks

Early Review: How To Tame a Beast in Seven Days (The Embraced #1), by Kerrelyn Sparks

March 6, 2017 Review 0

When I saw Kerrelyn Sparks’ name pop up, I instantly wanted to read this book; her Love At Stake is one of my guilty pleasures. Imagine by surprise when this book featured a meatier fantasy setting than her other vampire/urban fantasy series! I raced through this book as the intrigue, magic and love story developed. It was an enchanting read with fabulously loveable characters and both humour and tragedy throughout.

Divider