Author: Devon Monk

Divider

Divider

Review: Infinity Bell (House Immortal #2) by Devon Monk

Review: Infinity Bell (House Immortal #2) by Devon Monk

March 12, 2015 Review 0

INFINITY BELL, the second book in the House Immortal series, shows that Devon Monk just doesn’t know when to let up – in a good way! INFINITY BELL really takes the reader on a wild ride, throwing them from one conflict to the next, with smooth writing allowing for an excellent reading experience.

Divider

Review: House Immortal (House Immortal #1) by Devon Monk

Review: House Immortal (House Immortal #1) by Devon Monk

September 8, 2014 Review 0

Original and intriguing, HOUSE IMMORTAL falls closer to the science-fiction spectrum of books than urban fantasy. However, with the kickass heroine, powerful, near immortal beings, fun sidekicks, and original world, HOUSE IMMORTAL will definitely appeal to the standard urban fantasy reader.

Divider

Early Review: Cold Copper (Age of Steam,#3) by Devon Monk

Early Review: Cold Copper (Age of Steam,#3) by Devon Monk

July 1, 2013 Review 1

COLD COPPER is another exciting installment of the Age of Steam series with a solid mix of steampunk and supernatural elements. I liked how it almost felt like a thriller as the plot moved at a constant pace and there was an intensity of wondering what danger lurks on the next page for Cedar and his friends.

Divider

Early Review: Magic for a Price (Allie Beckstrom #9) by Devon Monk

Early Review: Magic for a Price (Allie Beckstrom #9) by Devon Monk

November 4, 2012 Review 0

I’ve had a mixed relationship with the Allie Beckstrom series, and MAGIC FOR A PRICE addressed many of my issues. But a nine book build up to get answers means high expectations, and my own reaction was mixed to say the least. I enjoyed MAGIC FOR A PRICE very much as an individual book, but it’s ending suffered significantly from my issues with the series as a whole.

Divider

Early Review: Dead Iron by Devon Monk

Early Review: Dead Iron by Devon Monk

June 26, 2011 Uncategorized 6

*This title will be released on July 5, 2011* Title: Dead Iron Author: Devon Monk Series: Age of Steam #1 Cover Art: Cliff Nielsen Genre: Paranormal Steampunk Excerpt: Yes Source: Publisher Reviewed by: Abigail Paperback: 352 pages Publisher: Roc Trade; Original edition (July 5, 2011) ISBN-10: 045146396X ISBN-13: 978-0451463968 Sexual Content: Kissing. References to rape Rating: Good – A fun read with minor flaws. Maybe read an excerpt before buying. Description Welcome to a new America that is built on blood, sweat, and gears… In steam age America, men, monsters, machines, and magic battle for the same scrap of earth… Read more »

Divider

Review: Magic at the Gate by Devon Monk

Review: Magic at the Gate by Devon Monk

February 12, 2011 Review 2

When considering the Allie Beckstrom series as a whole, MAGIC AT THE GATE was my slow point, as so much of the book revolved around the relationship between Allie and her father. While, by design, we don’t get much Zayvion (and more Daniel Beckstrom than I’d like), Shaymus and Allie and Stone have more than enough gravitas to carry a story on their own, enough so that I eagerly await MAGIC ON THE HUNT in April.

Divider