Posts Categorized: Review

Review: The Fairyland Murders (Deadly Ever After, #1)  by J.A. Kazimer

Review: The Fairyland Murders (Deadly Ever After, #1) by J.A. Kazimer

December 22, 2014 Review 1 ★★★

THE FAIRYLAND MURDERS was a interesting mixing of noir detective stories with fairy tales. With this mixture of a gritty murder mystery with light fanciful fairies and princesses you get an at times bizarre world filled with some hilarious interactions between characters. There are some neat references to fairy tale characters and fairy tales.

Divider

Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

December 20, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

SUSPICION by Alexandra Monir, is pitched as a modern version of the classic thriller Rebecca, and it definitely creates that vibe, along with a pretty solid mystery, and a dash of The Princess Diaries. Between that and the romance of reconnecting with a first love, this book didn’t need anything else – but it’s ‘urban fantasy,’ and so magic must appear. It’s rare for me to wish a story lacked a supernatural element, but with SUSPICION (a nonsensical title for the novel) enough is happening that the subplot about an ancestor with an unusually green thumb and the inheritance of “Elemental” powers just unbalances the plot.

Divider

Review: City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

Review: City of Eternal Night (Crescent City #2) by Kristen Painter

December 18, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Reading CITY OF ETERNAL NIGHT is like getting sucked into a whole new world. It’s one of those books that makes you wonder where the time went, since it flows so smoothly and effortlessly. It was a treat to revisit Harlow and Augustine, and their world full of fae politics and intrigue.

Divider

Divider

Review: Wolf’s Fall (Alpha Pack,#6) by J.D. Tyler

Review: Wolf’s Fall (Alpha Pack,#6) by J.D. Tyler

December 12, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

WOLF’S FALL presented a protagonist with PTSD due to a torture incident with a vampire which was a pretty interesting problem to load onto a character. While I don’t know to much about what PTSD is like I thought it portrayed the struggles of someone who has gone through a heavy trauma very well.

Divider

Review: Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: Jason (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23) by Laurell K. Hamilton

December 9, 2014 Review 7

‘ve only ever read one other Anita Blake novel and after reading that book I experienced the first time ever wanting to unread a story due to reason to long to write here. Since then, I’ve been hesitant to even pick up the first few books of this series which are supposed to be excellent according to everyone I’ve spoken to about the series. I decided to give JASON a chance as I was prepared for the random sexual encounters, throngs of characters, and over explaining of Anita’s relationships.

Divider

Review:  Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

Review: Mortal Heart (His Fair Assassin #3) by Robin LaFevers

December 2, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

Though it started out a bit slowly, MORTAL HEART was an excellent series conclusion to the His Fair Assassin trilogy. With the usual politics, action and intrigue that we’ve come to expect from the trilogy, MORTAL HEART offers an ending that should satisfy readers who’ve followed the characters from GRAVE MERCY.

Divider

Review: Night Shift (Anthology)

Review: Night Shift (Anthology)

November 29, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★★

While anthologies aren’t normally my thing, the draw of the Kate Daniels and SPI Investigations stories were just too much for me to pass up in the case of NIGHT SHIFT. Luckily, the whole anthology was high caliber and well worth the read, with four outstanding stories that, though part of series in three of the four cases, manage to stand on their own.

Divider

Divider

Early Review:  Black Widow (Elemental Assassin #12) by Jennifer Estep

Early Review: Black Widow (Elemental Assassin #12) by Jennifer Estep

November 24, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

Where BLACK WIDOW excels is going far beyond my expectations of a Elemental Assassin book. The series has felt repetitive at times though I keep coming back for me as I adore Gin and every other character that crosses paths with her good guy or bad. What BLACK WIDOW has done is take a series I’ve become comfortable with in regards to how the plot is going to go and flip it on its head. There is a game changer at the end of this book that I adore and can’t wait to see in the next book. Future expectations aside this book is excellent in its forward momentum towards that game changer moment.

Divider