Posts Categorized: Review

Review: Loop (Loop #1) by Karen Atkins

Review: Loop (Loop #1) by Karen Atkins

October 25, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

I keep trying time-travel stories and while LOOP is the first one that left me with a vague sense that I understood what was going on in the various timelines, they still end up giving me something of a headache while I read them. I can’t help wondering if my struggle to keep up with what’s going on keeps me from fully engaging with the plot itself. As far as LOOP goes, I think that’s only half of it.

Divider

Review: Penumbra (Spook Squad #3) by Keri Arthur

Review: Penumbra (Spook Squad #3) by Keri Arthur

October 24, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

PENUMBRA continues the quick pacing and action of the previous two books in this series. I liked figuring out just exactly what Sam is and how she fits into the vast network of government clones running amok around the world. I loved discovering Sam’s powers along with her and how she learns about them was fascinating.

Divider

Release Day Review: Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson #7) by Darynda Jones

Release Day Review: Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson #7) by Darynda Jones

October 21, 2014 Review 1 ★★★★

SEVENTH GRAVE AND NO BODY delivers exactly what readers have come to expect from the Charley Davidson series, with snark, sexiness and sweetness, all rolled up into one book. Those unfamiliar with the series may not want to start here, but if you’re caught up on the latest of Charley, I would suggest diving right in, so you don’t miss a single thing!

Divider

Divider

Release Day Review: Demons in My Driveway (Monster Haven, #5) by R.L. Naquin

Release Day Review: Demons in My Driveway (Monster Haven, #5) by R.L. Naquin

October 20, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

With this being the second to the last book in the Monster Haven series, DEMONS IN MY DRIVEWAY spends a lot of time setting up for the end through big revelations and big changes for Zoey and her friends. The clever, quirky creatures and light moments help balance out the loads of death, near deaths, and losses that pervade this book. Its the loyalty and

Divider

Divider

Review: Sublime by Christina Lauren

Review: Sublime by Christina Lauren

October 18, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

Don’t be fooled into expecting the usual YA ghostly love story, SUBLIME will entrap those tender expectations and twist them into horror. While the characters are as charismatic as expected from the expert romance duo Christina Lauren, most of the ghostly promise of the plot ultimately fell flat.

Divider

Review: Accidentally…Over? (Accidentally Yours, #5) by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

Review: Accidentally…Over? (Accidentally Yours, #5) by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

October 17, 2014 Review 0 ★★★

When the world is about to end according to a prophecy of course you are going to get a wild and crazy ride from the characters in the Accidentally Yours series. Being the last book in the series, ACCIDENTALLY…OVER? is filled with hilarious moments and a pretty entertaining storyline. The pacing is quick but the story can be confusing if you are starting the series with this book.

Divider

Review: Daring (Pax Arcana #2) by Elliott James

Review: Daring (Pax Arcana #2) by Elliott James

October 16, 2014 Review 0 ★★★★

With DARING, the second book in the Pax Arcana series, Elliott James becomes an urban fantasy author to watch. DARING manages to take everything I liked about book one and keep it, chuck everything I hated, and not come across as a sophomore slump. It’s a surprisingly good read that really steps up the series.

Divider

Release Day Review: Stitching Snow by R. C. Lewis

Release Day Review: Stitching Snow by R. C. Lewis

October 14, 2014 Review 2 ★★★

A very creative take on the Snow White fairy tale, STITCHING SNOW has a brilliant heroine coupled with a stubborn and honorable hero, taking place in what appears to be a galaxy, far far away. While some of the plot points were a bit predictable, it was a diverting read, and a fun way to spend a few hours.

Divider