Posts Categorized: Review

Release Day Review: Vision in Silver (The Others #3) by Anne Bishop

Release Day Review: Vision in Silver (The Others #3) by Anne Bishop

March 3, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

VISION IN SILVER was, while as enjoyable as always, a bit of a disappointment after MURDER OF CROWS. Much of VISION IN SILVER felt like build up to a larger issue that will be realized in the next book. While not exactly ending on a cliffhanger, VISION IN SILVER left me wanting more – more action, more time with the primary characters, more everything.

Divider

Review: Of Shadow and Stone by Michelle Muto

Review: Of Shadow and Stone by Michelle Muto

March 2, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

OF SHADOW AND STONE isn’t at all what I expected from the description. I was expecting an action packed paranormal romance. However, this book has almost no action, and the romance was also almost non-existent.

Divider

Divider

Review: Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear

Review: Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear

February 20, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

This steampunk western adventure includes a bevy in a brothel, a lethal sewing machine, and love at first sight. Elizabeth Bear introduces her audience to KAREN MEMORY (actually spelled ‘Memery’), a working girl at the Hôtel Mon Cherie with a penchant for dime novels and a huge heart that gets her into trouble. The ladies of Madame Damnable’s are worth following all on their own, but Bear sweetens the pot with a series of mysterious murders in the vein of Jack the Ripper. The novel’s only misstep is in mild over-plotting, but there’s no denying it’s one hell of an adrenaline ride at the end.

Divider

5bat! Audiobook Review: The Hidden Masters of Marandur (The Pillars of Reality #2) by Jack Campbell

5bat! Audiobook Review: The Hidden Masters of Marandur (The Pillars of Reality #2) by Jack Campbell

February 19, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★★

I may be a little biased because Jack Campbell is my favorite living author, but I loved THE HIDDEN MASTERS OF MARANDUR. This book picks up about two weeks after THE DRAGONS OF DORCASTLE ended, and you’re thrown right into the action. The intense battle and action scenes are one of the places where Campbell’s writing really shines. There are a lot of urban and epic fantasy novels that make me cringe when I read their battles, but Campbell’s years of military experience help him write realistic battles.

Divider

Audiobook Review: The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6) by Richelle Mead

Audiobook Review: The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6) by Richelle Mead

February 16, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

The Bloodlines series is one of my favorite young adults series right now. So I spent the past week relistening to the whole Bloodlines series, and I was surprised to see just how many loose ends and subplots Mead had left to tie up in the final and shortest book of the series. As a result, I started THE RUBY CIRCLE with high hopes, but ready to be disappointed.

Divider

Review:  Southern Spirits (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #1) by Angie Fox

Review: Southern Spirits (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #1) by Angie Fox

February 12, 2015 Review 3

SOUTHERN SPIRITS is a fun and surprisingly fast read. I enjoy some quirk in these light paranormal stories and this book is full of quirks from Verity’s pet skunk to the many types of ghosts with their own odd issues and relationships. The story follows Verity on her attempt to solve a decades old murder mystery in order to get money to pay off her debt and keep her house.

Divider

Release Day Review:  The Diabolical Miss Hyde (Electric Empire #1) by Viola Carr

Release Day Review: The Diabolical Miss Hyde (Electric Empire #1) by Viola Carr

February 10, 2015 Review 3 ★★★★

THE DIABOLICAL MISS HYDE was an entertaining twist on the classic tale of THE STRANGE CASE OF DR. JEKYLL AND MR. HYDE. I love a good murder mystery and one where the protagonist in part doesn’t know if she is the killer makes for an especially juicy story. The story, like the kind upright Dr. Eliza Jekyll is split in narration between her and her more brash and violent alter ego Lizzie Hyde.

Divider

Divider

Review:  Just in Time for a Highlander (Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands #1) by Gwyn Cready

Review: Just in Time for a Highlander (Sirens of the Scottish Borderlands #1) by Gwyn Cready

February 6, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

What makes JUST IN TIME FOR A HIGHLANDER unique in the ‘time traveling to the past historical romance’ genre is that the genders are switched. The guy, Duncan gets shuttled off to the Highlands of Scotland and meets a Scottish lass, Abby and they fall in love.The conflict (aside from Duncan being stuck in a time with no flush toilets) revolves around Abby trying to avoid war with the English, keeping the clan safe, and avoiding a forced marriage.

Divider