Posts Categorized: Review

5bats! Review & Giveaway: A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire #1) by Jessica Cluess

5bats! Review & Giveaway: A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire #1) by Jessica Cluess

September 21, 2016 Review 6 ★★★★★

A SHADOW BRIGHT AND BURNING was one of my most anticipated books of the fall. I’ve been looking forward to it since March. So you can imagine how happy I was that it lived up to my high expectations. Honestly, this book just killed me. There were moments that were like a kick to the stomach. There were moments where I was so happy for Henrietta. It was an up and down rollercoaster of emotions that I loved every second of.

Divider

Release Day Review: Magic Binds (Kate Daniels #9) by Ilona Andrews

Release Day Review: Magic Binds (Kate Daniels #9) by Ilona Andrews

September 20, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

Have you ever read a book and wanted to immediately start it over again or find a way to get the next book even though it isn’t completed yet and your T.A.R.D.I.S. is always broken? That happens to me every time I finish one of the books in the Kate Daniels series. Such is the disappointment of traveling through time in a linear fashion.

Divider

Early Review: Immortal Nights (Argeneau #24), by Lynsay Sands

Early Review: Immortal Nights (Argeneau #24), by Lynsay Sands

September 19, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

This series was in serious need of a infusion of plot and villain, and it really seems like we are headed that way. Taking place almost exactly at the same time as the previous book, IMMORTAL NIGHTS tells the story of the second Nolte twin, Tomassino, the other tall, dark and beefy Italian heartthrob. It also introduces another human woman who ends up stealing the show.

Abigail was a fun character. She’s a bit run down, when we first meet her, but she’s extremely clever, and is only one year away from finishing her medical degree. She’s cared for her mother until her death, and that has drained all her energy and all her savings. When the opportunity for a free vacation comes up, she jumps at the opportunity to accompany her childhood friend down to South America. She just didn’t count on it being quite the adventure it was.

Divider

Review: City of Wolves by Willow Palecek

Review: City of Wolves by Willow Palecek

September 13, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

CITY OF WOLVES is an enjoyable novella. I loved the main character, the sense of humor, and the world building, but I felt there were some aspects that were unnecessary and distracting, something which is all the more obvious in a novella length piece, where every word counts.

Divider

Divider

5bat! Release Day Review: Deja Who (Insighter #1) by MaryJanice Davidson

5bat! Release Day Review: Deja Who (Insighter #1) by MaryJanice Davidson

September 6, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

I will admit it: I started reading DEJA WHO solely because it is set in Chicago. But I continued reading it for the originality, the wit, and the mystery. First in a new series, DEJA WHO is a huge departure for Davidson after the 15 book Undead series. Focusing on the prickly Leah, an Insighter, somebody who can see people’s past lives, the world is creative and original, the romance is sweet, and the mystery is nothing too scary.

Divider

Divider

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

Review: Curioddity, by Paul Jenkins

August 30, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

CURIODDITY starts a bit slowly, like a strange roller coaster. It’s a sluggish start, if well written, highlighting just how boring Wil’s life is at the beginning of the book. Luckily, we quickly nosedive into the action when it starts. I read the first thirty percent of the book in a few days, and the rest in a frenzied seventy-five minutes of madness.

Divider

5bat! Review: Flight from Mayhem (Fly by Night #2) by Yasmine Galenorn

5bat! Review: Flight from Mayhem (Fly by Night #2) by Yasmine Galenorn

August 26, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★★

The Fly By Night series is quickly becoming one series I know I don’t want to miss. Though categorized as paranormal romance, FLIGHT FROM MAYHEM reads more like an urban fantasy with a romantic subplot, with the mystery taking center stage. The characters are really what shine, making FLIGHT FROM MAYHEM a super enjoyable read.

Divider

Review: Debtor’s Prison (Bookburners #2.5) by Mur Lafferty

Review: Debtor’s Prison (Bookburners #2.5) by Mur Lafferty

August 25, 2016 Review 0 ★★★★

Every small glimpse each episode of Bookburners gives us into the past of the various characters is like a little treat for me, and in this episode, after getting a bit of Liam’s past in the previous episode, focused on Asanti, who easily is my favorite character.

Divider