Posts Categorized: Review

Release Day 5!Bat Review: A Red-Rose Chain (October Daye #9) by Seanan McGuire

Release Day 5!Bat Review: A Red-Rose Chain (October Daye #9) by Seanan McGuire

September 1, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★★

If THE WINTER LONG was a cataclysmic event completing so many of the series’ arcs, A RED-ROSE CHAIN is a triumphant rise from the ashes. Toby and her friends are thrown into unfamiliar waters with the highest of stakes, and the narrative sparkles along as they investigate, quip, and kick ass. A return of everything fantastic about this series, A RED-ROSE CHAIN proves that with good and the bad revelations in her rearview mirror, Toby’s adventures march triumphantly onward.

Divider

Review: Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels #8) by Ilona Andrews

Review: Magic Shifts (Kate Daniels #8) by Ilona Andrews

August 31, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

While Urban Fantasy often offers the emotion and character growth of Romance, the best surprises lie on the other side of the happily ever after. Through the looking glass of this familiar trope we see beloved characters moving to the burbs, dealing with bossy neighbors, and killing deadly creatures to be home in time for dinner.

Divider

Review: Shards of Hope (Psy-Changeling #14) by Nalini Singh

Review: Shards of Hope (Psy-Changeling #14) by Nalini Singh

August 27, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

For quite awhile the Arrows have been a group of characters who I’ve been interested in learning more about as I’ve read the Psy-Changling series. It was really neat seeing the interior lives of the Arrows. Aden, one of the Arrows who has been ‘hanging’ around the series for a few books now is finally given a story in SHARDS OF HOPE and it’s a story filled with sadness, pain, loneliness, and as the title aptly says a shard of hope.

Divider

Release Day Review:  Beauty and the Werewolf (San Francisco Wolf Pack #2) by Kristin Miller

Release Day Review: Beauty and the Werewolf (San Francisco Wolf Pack #2) by Kristin Miller

August 25, 2015 Review 0 ★★★

BEAUTY AND THE WEREWOLF is a charming paranormal romance filled with much romantic and family angst. It is an even paced story and I enjoyed the werewolf mythos set up in this story. One issue I did have was the fact that Isabelle’s dad seems to be intent on her marrying someone from her pack regardless of the fact that the mythos sets up that if you don’t find your mate you will die after 300 years.

Divider

Divider

Divider

Siren’s Call (Rainshadow #4) by Jayne Castle

Siren’s Call (Rainshadow #4) by Jayne Castle

August 20, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

Whenever I see a new Rainshadow series book come out I admit I get a little excited for more dust bunny adventures. I know, I know they are the sidekicks/adorable pets of the main characters who are fabulous and tough and everything I’d want in a heroine. But I love them.

Divider

Review: Dragon Fall (Black Dragons #1) by Katie MacAlister

Review: Dragon Fall (Black Dragons #1) by Katie MacAlister

August 17, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

One of the aspects I enjoyed about DRAGON FALL was the world building. I love seeing different takes on dragon lore and this one was especially unique.The story follows Aoife as she begins to discover this strange new world filled with dragons except of course she discovers it at a time when there is the greatest conflict and danger for the dragons.

Divider

Review: Pure Magic (Black Dogs #2) by Rachel Neumeier

Review: Pure Magic (Black Dogs #2) by Rachel Neumeier

August 14, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

BLACK DOG was my favorite book of 2014, and PURE MAGIC is everything I could have hoped for in a sequel. The black dogs of this world are a little darker, a littler more demonic than Urban Fantasy’s usual shapeshifters. With sulfur and fire and violence in their hearts, they flow up through the human body, and burst into our world.

Divider

Review: Energized (Tidewater #3) by Mary Behre

Review: Energized (Tidewater #3) by Mary Behre

August 13, 2015 Review 1 ★★★★

ENERGIZED is a well paced romantic thriller with just enough twists and supernatural flair to make it stand out.

Romantic thrillers are typically pretty formulaic. He has a military background and problems expressing his feelings. She has a shady past or a dark secret. They typically have sex super early on, then meet up again later on and it’s a bit awkward but sparks fly. ENERGIZED manages to hit all those bases, but has enough original additions that helped me devour it.

Divider