Early Review: The Forever Ship (The Fire Sermon #3) by Francesca Haig

December 4, 2017 Review 0

Early Review: The Forever Ship (The Fire Sermon #3) by Francesca HaigThe Forever Ship by Francesca Haig
Series: The Fire Sermon #3
Published by Gallery Books on December 5, 2017
Genres: Dystopia, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Pages: 400
Source: Edelweiss
Sexual Content: Brief reference to sex
Reviewed by: Rebecca
4 Stars

Book Three in the critically acclaimed The Fire Sermon trilogy—The Hunger Games meets Cormac McCarthy’s The Road in this richly imagined post-apocalyptic series by award-winning poet Francesca Haig.

Haig's prose is gorgeous and engaging, particularly when she describes the desolate landscape, now peppered with ruins from the Before. Fans of dystopias will appreciate this adventure-filled yet character-focused tale that offers hope and explores (in a refreshingly nuanced way) the moral complexities involved in defeating an oppressive and backward government structure" (Booklist, starred review).

THE FOREVER SHIP is an unflinching portrayal of revolution. War is more than fighting. It’s starvation, waiting, and unwinnable situations. For every victory in THE FOREVER SHIP there is an equal devastating loss. Part of this is due to the world building, which has the perfect specimens of the Alphas unbalanced by their disabled Omega twin. The Omegas are fighting to save Elsewhere and destroy the Council, while the Alpha’s want to maintain their superiority.

THE FOREVER SHIP has constant references to past decisions or choices from the other novels. Sometimes it’s to see how the character’s have grown, sometime it’s to show how revolution has hardened them. Cass’ twin Zach reappears and brings a host of ethics into play. Most of the novel focuses on the ethical dilemmas that rise during wars. Which life is more valuable? What resource is most precious? What lines are we willing to cross? There’s not as much action as the previous novels. The novel plays as an emotional rollercoaster rather than an physical one.

The writing is what sets The Fire Sermon trilogy apart from other novels. It’s grim and beautiful. Like the character’s in the novel, the THE FOREVER SHIP isn’t a book you can walk away from unscarred. The words and moments linger far after the book is closed. With a majority of disabled characters and gorgeous writing, The Fire Sermon trilogy is a fascinating read. If you haven’t read the series, pick it up.

Series Titles:
  1. The Fire Sermon
  2. The Map of Bones
  3. The Forever Ship
More Reviews: Similar Titles:

For more revolutions and hard choices, check out Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne

Comments are closed.