Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi Charish

May 29, 2017 Review 1

Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi CharishOwl and the Electric Samurai by Kristi Charish
Series: The Adventures of Owl #3
Published by Pocket Star on May 8, 2017
Genres: Adult, Romantic, Urban Fantasy
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 416
Source: NetGalley
Excerpt: Excerpt
Sexual Content: Kissing
Reviewed by: Kate
4 Stars

The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish (Owl and the Japanese Circus) and for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

All in all, just another great day on the job.

A step up from its predecessors, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI is a welcome departure from the all-action, little-plot formula readers are familiar with from the first two novels. Delving deeper into supernatural politics, and significantly raising the stakes, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI shows an maturation of both Charish's writing, and the main character, Owl.

To be perfectly honest, though I enjoyed the first two books in The Adventures of Owl series, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI easily jumped into the favorite slot. I also think that it would be easy to pick up the series with this installment, as there isn't that much that the reader needs to know to understand what is going on, and most of it is covered by way of explanations from Owl or other characters.

Unlike the first two books of the series, OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI doesn't rely on constant action to keep the reader's attention, which meant that going in, my interest lagged a bit in the beginning (though the book does start with a nice chase scene). I wasn't expecting the level of political machinations Owl found herself involved in and the slow burn to the end plot twist, but once I got caught up on the details, I was sucked in. And boy, that ending! The final quarter of the book was definitely unputdownable with not only action but more subtle twists and turns happening.

One complaint I had previously was that Owl felt like a pretty immature character. One of the reasons I liked this book more than the previous two in the series was that I felt Owl showed significant growth - she acted more like a super intelligent archeologist would, rather than a ridiculously inexperienced treasure hunter. Again, her smarts are something I like about this series, and I enjoyed how she really got to put them to use! And without any spoilers, another complaint I'd had was the ability of Owl and company to get out of any situation nearly unscathed - which is not the case in this book, and I loved it. It had a much more gritty, realistic feel (with magic, obviously!) than previously.

All in all, after the ending of OWL AND THE ELECTRIC SAMURAI threw me for a complete loop, I am desperate to know where Charish is going to take Owl and the rest of the characters in The Adventures of Owl series. I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series, OWL AND THE TIGER THIEVES.

Series Titles:
  1. Owl and the Japanese Circus - 3/5
  2. Owl and the City of Angels - 3/5
  3. Owl and the Electric Samurai
  4. Owl and the Tiger Thieves

 

More Reviews: Similar Titles:

One Response to “Review: Owl and the Electric Samurai (The Adventures of Owl #3) by Kristi Charish”

  1. Anne

    I agree with most of your comments, particularly about the Owl being way too immature in the first two books. I didn’t like this one quite as much though because the non-stop crazy (logical? illogical?) action from the first two is replaced, for me, by a fairly standard plot except for learning about the game developers.

Leave a Reply