Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuire

March 28, 2017 Review 0

Review: Magic For Nothing (InCryptid #6), by Seanan McGuireMagic For Nothing by Seanan McGuire
Series: InCryptid #6
Published by DAW on March 7th, 2017
Genres: Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Occult & Supernatural, Urban Fantasy
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 386
Source: NetGalley
Sexual Content: Non-explicit sex scene, kissing.
Reviewed by: Kim
4 Stars

Improbable, adjective:
1. Not very likely to happen; not probable.
2. Probably not a very good idea anyway.
3. See also “bad plan.”

As the youngest of the three Price children, Antimony is used to people not expecting much from her. She’s been happy playing roller derby and hanging out with her cousins, leaving the globe-trotting to her older siblings while she stays at home and tries to decide what she wants to do with her life. She always knew that one day, things would have to change. She didn’t think they’d change so fast.

Annie’s expectations keep getting shattered. She didn’t expect Verity to declare war on the Covenant of St. George on live television. She didn’t expect the Covenant to take her sister’s threat seriously. And she definitely didn’t expect to be packed off to London to infiltrate the Covenant from the inside…but as the only Price in her generation without a strong resemblance to the rest of the family, she’s the perfect choice to play spy. They need to know what’s coming. Their lives may depend on it.

But Annie has some secrets of her own, like the fact that she’s started setting things on fire when she touches them, and has no idea how to control it. Now she’s headed halfway around the world, into the den of the enemy, where blowing her cover could get her killed. She’s pretty sure things can’t get much worse.

Antimony Price is about to learn just how wrong it’s possible for one cryptozoologist to be.

MAGIC FOR NOTHING took me a little bit longer to get into than other InCryptid novels. I’m not sure if it’s because of the new narrator - the youngest of the Price siblings, Antimony - or if it was because so much of the beginning relied on the backlash of the previous book. Once we got into the swing of things though - trapeze joke! - I really enjoyed it.

One of the main themes in the InCryptid books is the family you are born to or the one you choose, and it’s importance when the whole world seems to be against you. Or, in the case of the Price family, actually is. Since she isn’t blonde and perky like her siblings, Antimony gets sent to England to infiltrate the Covenant, the monster-killing group that the Price family ran away from a few generations back. Antimony finds long lost cousins among the killers, and long lost talking mice, too!

The Covenant send Antimony back to America to infiltrate a travelling carnival, and I adored the atmosphere and the people there. There are miscellaneous monsters, some we’ve seen before and new ones that were tons of fun. Once again, the scariest monsters are the humans, whether from the Covenant or otherwise.

MAGIC FOR NOTHING is fun, with carnie slang and ghost aunts aplenty. It’s not as sexy as some of the previous books, but I have high hopes for the next book, which is slated to some out in 2018.

Series Titles:
  1. Discount Armageddon
  2. Midnight Blue-Light Special - 5 Bats
  3. Half-Off Ragnarok - 5 Bats
  4. Pocket Apocalypse - 4 Bats
  5. Chaos Choreography
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
Comments are closed.