Review: Undead and Done: A Queen Betsy Novel (Undead #15) by MaryJanice Davidson

October 4, 2016 Review 0

Review:  Undead and Done: A Queen Betsy Novel (Undead #15) by MaryJanice DavidsonUndead and Done by MaryJanice Davidson
Series: Undead, #15
Published by Berkley on October 4, 2016
Genres: Fantasy & Magic, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 304 pages
Source: NetGalley
Sexual Content: kissing, references to sex
Reviewed by: Kristina
4 Stars

Vampire Queen Betsy Taylor continues her rule in Hell in the scorchingly funny finale to the Undead series from New York Times bestselling author MaryJanice Davidson.

It had been a well-kept secret for centuries, but now the existence of vampires is all over the news, thanks to Betsy Taylor’s half sister (and the frustrated former Antichrist), Laura. Life for the undead will never be the same, and it’s up to Betsy to do some damage control. But her interview on the local news doesn’t exactly put out the fire. It more or less pours kerosene on it.

With all the added attention on supernatural beings, the werewolves are more than a little agitated (never a good thing) and demand that Betsy gets her interview skills, and her family, in order. And while things go from bad to worse in the world, Hell continues to be hell—especially when Betsy’s new parole program becomes about as complicated as you’d expect.

With a PR team launching a vampire-friendly campaign, the devil at large and out to make trouble, and mermaids on hand to see who falls—and how hard—the end isn’t just near. It’s here. And if anyone knows how to go out with a bang, it’s the queen of Hell.

UNDEAD AND DONE was a wonderfully crazy ending to a hilarious series. I love how this series is so unapologetic in its absurdity and quirkiness. In this final book Betsy is running Hell, being a vampire queen, and dealing with the vampire revelation to the human world. There is always so much going on in these books that at times I have to go back and try to figure out all of the "what did who and what the what, and who's that now?". That is by no means a fault of these books as I revel in the absolute chaos of Betsy's world and adore her ability to figure everything out in the end in a dramatic flair that only Betsy could do.

There are lots of loose ends tied up as is expected with a final book in a series. One thing I love about these books are the references back to previous books footnotes pointing to just which book in the series to find what characters are talking about. This is very helpful and should be applied to more series.

I've enjoyed seeing Betsy grow into her role as Queen of Hell and make that role her own. All of the characters get a chance to shine and especially the weird twins who appear at different ages at random times. They are my favorite of this random bunch of characters....aside from Betsy that is.

I'll miss the silly snarkiness of these books. They infused a lightness into the urban fantasy genre which leans towards grim and dark at times. I can't wait to see what MaryJanice Davidson has in store for her next series.

Series Titles:

1. Undead and Unwed 2. Undead and Unemployed 3. Undead and Unappreciated 4. Undead and Unreturnable 5. Undead and Unpopular 6. Undead and Uneasy 7. Undead and Unworthy 8. Undead and Unwelcome 9. Undead and Unfinished 10. Undead and Undermined 11.  Undead and Unstable 12. Undead and Unsure 13. Undead and Unwary 14. Undead and Unforgiven

More Reviews: Similar Titles:
  • Kitty Norville series by Carrie Vaughn
  • ONLY LYCANS NEED APPLY by Michele Bardsley
Comments are closed.