Review: Midnight Marked (Chicagoland Vampires #12) by Chloe Neill

April 29, 2016 Review 0

Review: Midnight Marked (Chicagoland Vampires #12) by Chloe NeillMidnight Marked by Chloe Neill
Series: Chicagoland Vampires #12
Published by NAL Trade on March 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Romantic, Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Pages: 361
Source: NetGalley
Excerpt: Excerpt
Sexual Content: Sex scenes
Reviewed by: Julia
4 Stars

A vampire’s grudges don’t stay dead long...

Merit is one of Chicago's most skilled vampire warriors; these days, she doesn't scare easily. But she and Master vampire Ethan have made a new and powerful enemy, and he won't give up until he owns the Windy City.

With his last plan thwarted, he's more determined than ever to watch Cadogan burn. Ethan has put the House's vampires on high alert, but their enemy will stop at nothing, including pitting vampire against vampire...

In this deadly game of cat-and-mouse, the stakes are life or death—and winning might mean sacrificing everything...

MIDNIGHT MARKED has all the loveable hallmarks of this series: food, camaraderie, and Chicago pride.  Dolloped on top of this delicious mix are a few relationship milestones and some impending doom, making for an enjoyable read all around.

Fans of the Chicagoland Vampires series will recognize their favorite elements in this installment, but unfortunately familiar weaknesses are also present.  Merit’s sleuthing style can read like a police blotter at times, all reported facts and no analysis.  This means that the main storyline, anything not involving romance or food, can drag significantly.  Luckily, both Ethan and Chicago cuisine are delicious enough to make up for this deficit, carrying a dry mystery and indifferent villain through to a pleasant end.

At this point in the series, I’ve lost all emotional stake in Cadogan’s enemies or even Chicago’s threats.  Too compelling to quit, however, are Merit’s evolving relationships, be they platonic, romantic, and political.  As the series draws to a close, it becomes ever more apparent that the crucible that shapes Merit is less important than her ultimate transformation... and where she’ll be eating dinner after kicking ass.

Series Titles:
  1. Some Girls Bite – 3/5
  2. Friday Night Bites
  3. Twice Bitten
  4. Hard Bitten – 4/5
  5. Drink Deep - 5/5
  6. Biting Cold – 4/5
  7. House Rules – 4/5
  8. Biting Bad-4/5
  9. Wild Things
  10. Blood Games - 4/5
  11. Dark Debt - 4/5
  12. Midnight Marked
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
  • For another series by the same author, try the Dark Elite or Devil's Isle series by Chloe Neill.
Comments are closed.