Review: Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5) by Thea Harrison

November 2, 2015 Review 2

Review: Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5) by Thea HarrisonDragos Goes to Washington by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #8.5
Published by Teddy Harrison on October 12, 2015
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Romantic, Urban Fantasy
Format: eBook
Pages: 129
Source: Author, Publisher
Sexual Content: Explicit sex scenes.
Reviewed by: Julia
4 Stars

Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, needs to throw a party without maiming anyone. That isn’t exactly as easy as it might sound.

After the destructive events of the last eighteen months, the Elder Races are heading to Washington D.C. to foster peace with humankind. Not known for his diplomacy skills, Dragos must rely on his mate Pia to help navigate a battlefield of words and polite smiles rather than claws. With Dragos’s mating instinct riding close to the surface, his temper is more volatile than ever and the threat of violence hovers in the air.

Then the human spouse of a prominent politician winds up murdered and Dragos and Pia must race against time to hunt down those behind it before they are held responsible for the crime. (40,000 words; 174 pages)

For fans of DRAGON BOUND and LORD’S FALL, the latest novella in the Elder Races holds passion, peril, political intrigue, and revelations that will change Dragos and Pia’s lives forever.

DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON is the first part of a three-story series about Dragos, Pia, and their son Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three in order as they will be released: DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON, PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD, and LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN.

Nothing made me happier than having Dragos and Pia come back to the Elder Races series as main characters, but these fantastic little short stories are a close second.  In DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON we get to catch up with the First Family of the Wyr, and see them in close quarters with humans and Elder Races a like.

Patricia Briggs is the short story gold standard by which I judge all other efforts, they're detailed, immersive, and function both as standalone stories and an enticement to read more.  Thea Harrison's short stories are a near perfect score on the Briggs Scale.  DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON could be read as a stand alone, but new readers should really start with DRAGON BOUND to get the full experience.  This short runs hot and heavy on the romance, amping up the Paranormal Romance flavor of the story overall.

For fans of the series, DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON is everything you could hope for (unless you're like me, where you immediately wanted the next two stories to appear on my eReader).  A fun glimpse of beloved characters, an appetizer that offers flavors of the Elder Races without ruining our appetite for SHADOW'S END on December 1.

Series Titles:
  1. Dragon Bound - 4/5
  2. Storm's Heart - 4/5
  3. Serpent's Kiss - 4/5
  4. Oracle's Moon - 5/5
  5. Lord's Fall - 4/5
  6. Kinked - 4/5
  7. Night's Honor - 4/5
  8. Midnight's Kiss - 4/5
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
  • For romance amidst paranormal intrigue, try Patricia Brigg's SHIFTING SHADOWS, a collection of all of her fantastic short stories in the Mercy Thompson series, as well as a few more. 4/5

2 Responses to “Review: Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5) by Thea Harrison”

  1. Samantha

    Glad to hear you enjoyed this one! I typically really like Harrison’s short stories as well. I miss her sporadically releasing stories centered around the tarot deck. I really loved some of those.

  2. Mina

    Reading your review I realize I really have to get back into the series – “Kinked” was my last “Elder Races”-book! Thanks for the reminder how cool this series is.