Review: Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood #1) by Jessica Day George

July 23, 2015 Review 0

Review: Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood #1) by Jessica Day GeorgeSilver in the Blood by Jessica Day George
Series: Silver in the Blood #1
Published by Bloomsbury Children's Books on July 7, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Historical, Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 358
Source: Publisher
Sexual Content: References to rape
Reviewed by: Kate
4 Stars

A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate... or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

SILVER IN THE BLOOD was a book I was very much looking forward to reading. The beautiful cover and author alone (I loved DRAGON SLIPPERS) was enough to intrigue me, and I didn't even bother reading the description. So going in a bit blind, I was very happy when SILVER IN THE BLOOD lived up to my expectations.

It's hard for me to encapsulate exactly what I liked so much about SILVER IN THE BLOOD. The two main characters, cousins Dacia and Louisa, or Lou, were perfect, and I loved their letters, telegrams and diary entries between the chapters. Both had their moments of spunk and they were lots of fun to read about. They also felt very real and I would be hard pressed to pick a favorite.

The setting, Romania, is a bit different than most paranormal historical novels. But it was done beautifully. You could tell the author was a bit in love with the countryside and the people, based on the descriptions of clothing, and country estates.

The one bone I have to pick with SILVER IN THE BLOOD is the absence of development of any romantic relationship. Though at the end, one of the cousins is in a relationship, the reader doesn't get to see its growth, and in my opinion, that would have rounded out the book wonderfully.

With an excellent story, fun main characters, and wonderful world building, SILVER IN THE BLOOD is a unique young adult novel, without your typical girl falls in love with vampire or werewolf story, about two girls coming into their own and learning what it means to grow up and make your own decisions. This is one I'd recommend any teenager, and adults will definitely find something to like as well. Though you may want to read the book description first!

Series Titles:
  1. Silver in the Blood
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
  • For another book with young socialites, try Sorcery and Cecilia by Patricia Wrede and Caroline Stevermer.
Comments are closed.