Release Day 5bat! Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

May 5, 2015 Review 4

Release Day 5bat! Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury Children's Books on May 5, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, New Adult, Romantic
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 416
Source: Publisher
Excerpt: Excerpt
Sexual Content: Kissing, references to sex, intimate contact of questionable consent
Reviewed by: Kate
5 Stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I will admit - when I received A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES in the mail, I may have squealed. Loudly. My love of fairy tale retellings, no matter how loosely the term is used, is well known, and with Sarah J. Maas at the helm, it couldn't be anything but great, right?

Luckily, A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES does not, in any way, disappoint. Darker and meant for an older audience than her Throne of Glass series, A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES  is a spectacular marvel that will keep you holding your breath on the edge of your seat for over four hundred too short pages. Set in a lush, well written fantasy world, with a story that flows off the page and captivates the reader, there is almost nothing to dislike about this book.

Aside from my love affair with fairy tales, A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES manages to hold its own. With intricate twists and turns in the plot and characters with lots of dimensions, the reader easily gets sucked in. I fell in love with both Feyre and Tamlin, not to mention the side characters, and even some of the characters that came off as slightly evil. Feyre is so tough and cares about her family so much, and though she holds strong opinions, that doesn't mean she's completely inflexible. And though A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES is about faeries, these aren't the faeries that you've seen before. Maas paints an entirely new mythology, creative and different, existing just across a wall from the humans' world.

And when I say dark, I mean dark. The villain is so delightfully twisted, so evil that you can't help but admire the writing that went into making a character that you love to hate. But this also means there are some situations that Feyre is put into that might be tough for younger readers to read, both violent and sexual. This is a young adult book that is definitely meant for the older crowd.

Basically, I can't gush about this book enough. My biggest disappointment is that I have to wait a year (!) for the next installment in the series, especially because there were questions left unanswered that I want answers to yesterday. Oh well, at least there's re-reading - something I plan on doing right now, since this review just reminded me how much I loved this book. Definitely in the running for one of my favorites of the year so far.

Series Titles:
  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
  • For another series by Sarah J. Maas, try the Throne of Glass series.
  • For another creative fairy tale retelling, try Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge.

4 Responses to “Release Day 5bat! Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas”

  1. Mina

    Ahh, I just downloaded “Court of Thorns and Roses” on my Kindle – I’m so excited! And your review made me even happier that I can start reading right now. Thank you!!!

  2. Barbara

    Got it on my Kindle and just finished reading it. Loved it!! I cannot wait for the next book.