Review: Bittersweet Darkness (The Order #3) by Nina Croft

March 10, 2014 Review 0

Review: Bittersweet Darkness (The Order #3) by Nina CroftBittersweet Darkness by Nina Croft
Series: The Order #3
Published by Entangled Edge on February 25, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: eBook
Pages: 251
Source: NetGalley
Excerpt: Excerpt
Sexual Content: Several sex scenes
Reviewed by: Kate
3 Stars

There are no monsters, only good guys and bad guys. That’s the creed by which Detective Inspector Faith Connolly has always lived.

When Faith discovers that she has a time bomb counting down in her head, she has one goal; to solve the murder case she’s working on—a young girl who was found drained of blood—and in doing so gain closure for a long ago murder never solved. Her investigation brings her in contact with Ash Delacourt. Ash is all black leather, big guns and sexy bad attitude—definitely not one of the good guys.

As payment for a debt, Asmodai AKA Ash Delacourt, finds himself working with the Order of the Shadow Accords. He’s the demon representative on the newly formed Committee for the Integration of Mankind and well…everything else. It’s a chance to be near his daughter, make a new start, and—once he’s met the delectable detective—maybe have a little fun.

There are no monsters. But as Faith’s investigation deepens, her beliefs are eroded and for the first time, she is falling in love—with one of the bad guys. But how can she ever let Ash close when her time is running out…?

While a fun paranormal romance, I’m disappointed to say that BITTERSWEET DARKNESS just didn’t live up to my expectations of The Order series. Sometimes, it just felt like the book was trying too hard - dialogue felt forced, and the action seemed contrived. I enjoyed the book, but this one won’t be one of my favorites of the series.

Don’t get me wrong - Ash sounded like sex on a stick, really, and the scenes between him and Faith were hot, but they felt either on or off, there was no in the middle flirtiness, in my opinion. Plus, it squicked me out a little that Ash’s daughter was similar in age to Faith. While I understand, logically, that the vampires are old and obviously there’s a large age difference between Tara and Christian, for example, it’s weird when there is the obvious reminder of a child similar in age to the paramour.

As usual, however, I did enjoy delving deeper into the world of The Order - visiting Ash’s home in the Abyss was certainly a new aspect that we hadn’t seen previously, and watching Ash navigate his rocky relationship with his daughter was fun. You get the impression that he’s not frequently at a loss, and with Tara, he definitely is. Seeing Christian, Piers, Tara and Roz was fun, plus cameos by other characters we’ve come to know, like Ryan, from the previous book, and the Walker, the crazy fae assassin.

Since I’ve read enough of Croft’s work to know that BITTERSWEET DARKNESS is the exception, not the rule, I am looking forward to the next book in The Order series. Pick this one up for Ash though, because in that respect, he’s totally worth it. 😉

Series Titles:
  1. Bittersweet Blood - 4/5
  2. Bittersweet Magic - 4/5
  3. Bittersweet Darkness
More Reviews: Similar Titles:
Comments are closed.