Review: Cold Iron (Cold Iron, #1) by D.L. McDermott

February 10, 2014 Review 0

Review: Cold Iron (Cold Iron, #1) by D.L. McDermottCold Iron by D.L. McDermott
Series: Cold Iron, #1
Published by Pocket Books on February 10, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: Paperback
Pages: 381 pages
Source: NetGalley
Sexual Content: graphic sex scenes
Reviewed by: Kristina
3 Stars

For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, this full-length novel is the first in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced, sexy paranormal romance series—available exclusively in ebook!

The Fae, the Good Neighbors, the Fair Folk, the Aes Sídhe, creatures of preternatural beauty and seduction. Archaeologist Beth Carter doesn’t believe in them. She’s always credited her extraordinary ability to identify ancient Celtic sites to hard work and intuition—until she discovers a tomb filled with ancient treasure but missing a body. Her ex-husband, the scholar who stifled her career to advance his own, is unconcerned. Corpses don’t fetch much on the antiquities market. Gold does. Beth knows from past experience that if she isn’t vigilant, Frank will make off with the hoard.

So when a man—tall, broad shouldered, and impossibly handsome—turns up in her bedroom claiming to be the tomb’s inhabitant, one of mythic god-kings of old Ireland, Beth believes it is a ploy cooked up by her ex-husband to scare her away from the excavation.

But Conn is all too real. Ancient, alien, irresistible, the Fae are the stuff of dreams and nightmares, their attentions so addictive their abandoned human lovers wither and die. And this one has fixed his supernatural desire on Beth.

When I saw the blurb for COLD IRON promising Celtic mythology and of course Fae I jumped at the chance to read it. I really wanted to read about the fae and see an interpretation of Celtic folklore and COLD IRON gives you that in wonderful detail. I enjoyed the solid world building and how the Fae and Druid connection in this book was expertly woven around the actual historical facts (in respect to the Druids that is) of these two Irish legends and people. In most of the books I've read faeries tend to be mischievous, cruel, and down right naughty. COLD IRON goes one step further in this description and makes them almost inhuman or alien in their emotions and interactions with humans. I enjoyed this more evil and dangerous take as there is always an element of danger present when ever a faerie is around in COLD IRON. Even the 'good guy' Fae are wicked and multiple shades of grey.

In regards to the main characters; Beth comes off as a well rounded character with a backstory that had me feeling really, really bad for her in regards to her choices of a husband. In regards to Conn I wasn't to excited by him especially considering he is one of the 'evil sadistic' fae who has had villages in Ireland trembling for eons. Just the thought that this guy has essentially raped countless women and wanted to essentially rape Beth kind of put a damper on my reading of his and Beth's relationship growth. Everytime Beth began to consent to sex it just seemed akward as she's consenting to a guy who is a serial rapist and this is after she leaves her ex-husband who is basically an all around horrible person who used and abused her both in their marriage and after.

COLD IRON has some great ideas and twists in regards to Celtic mythology but unfortunately the romance is too dreary and fraught with such sad past and violent pasts in regards to Beth and Conn that I was left feeling cold in regards to feeling anything positive about them as a couple.

Series Titles:

N/A

More Reviews: Similar Titles:
Comments are closed.