Release Day Review: Up From the Grave (Night Huntress, #7) Jeaniene Frost

January 28, 2014 Review 0

Release Day Review: Up From the Grave (Night Huntress, #7) Jeaniene FrostUp From the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
Series: Night Huntress, #7
Published by Avon on January 28, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Pages: 368 page pages
Source: Publicity Agency
Sexual Content: sex scenes
Reviewed by: Kristina
4 Stars

There’s always one more grave to dig.

Lately, life has been unnaturally calm for vampires Cat Crawfield and her husband Bones. They should have known better than to relax their guard, because a shocking revelation sends them back into action to stop an all-out war…

A rogue CIA agent is involved in horrifying secret activities that threaten to raise tensions between humans and the undead to dangerous heights. Now Cat and Bones are in a race against time to save their friends from a fate worse than death…because the more secrets they unravel, the deadlier the consequences. And if they fail, their lives—and those of everyone they hold dear— will be hovering on the edge of the grave.

UP FROM THE GRAVE concludes the Night Huntress series and its a bittersweet feeling saying goodbye to Cat and Bones sharing their ups and downs and watching them evolve from book to book. This last book brings out everything fans have come to expect from this series from fist pumping action, clever quips and cameos from just about every character we've come to know and love. There are some exciting twists and revelations concerning people in Cat's life that have been stewing for a long time. Some of the most shocking revelations involve Madigan; a character introduced in earlier books who seemed to be pretty random and on hold until UP FROM THE GRAVE. I liked how everyone (bad guys and good) had a chance to shine with their own abilities and unique personalities to help defeat the big bad.My personal favorite cameo is the short visit to see Vlad which cleverly links to the Cat and Bones cameo in TWICE TEMPTED.

Cat and Bones' relationship has evolved so much through this series and it was nice to see this mature, comfortable couple in UP FROM THE GRAVE and reflect upon just how far they came from their first meeting in HALFWAY TO THE GRAVE. There isn't too much in the way of sex scenes in comparison to the previous books in this series but that's not really a problem as their dedication for each other truly shines in the more dire situations that happen in UP FROM THE GRAVE.  Cat has grown so much herself over the series too and it was really fun to see her grow into a more confident woman with a larger group of friends and family than she had at the start of this series.

UP FROM THE GRAVE brings us to the end of the Night Huntress series with a balance of action, romance and sarcastic humor. While I wish there were just one more book to read in this series I'm glad it ended on a high note and am looking forward to what come next from Jeaniene Frost.

Series Titles:

1. Halfway to the Grave
2. One Foot in the Grave
3. At Grave's End
4. Destined for an Early Grave
5. This Side of the Grave
6. One Grave at a Time

More Reviews: Similar Titles:
Comments are closed.