Early Review: The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark #1) by Shana Abe

March 30, 2013 Review 5 ★★★★

The Sweetest Dark

The Sweetest Dark

(The Sweetest Dark #1) by
Genre: , , Excerpt: YesBook Trailer: Yes Reviewed by: Julia | Source:
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Publisher: on April 2, 2013
  • Pages: 352

Rating

4 Stars

Sexual Content

References to sex.

Description

For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.

“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

Review

Shana Abe has an unmistakeable lilt, a mystery and music to her writing that transcends individual stories and knits together the whole. Like Robin McKinley, Abe lets time and distance deepen the mysteries between her books, she employs the realistic vagaries of history to make each new story a haunting new landscape. Though there are hints of the drakon, notes from Rue, THE SWEETEST DARK is unmistakably a new and unknown present tense.  New readers, unaware of the threads leading back to the Drakon series, will discover this world afresh through Lora's eyes.

And though Lora is one of the deserving poor, this orphan is no Mary Sue. Intelligent, passionate and isolated, Lora is neither a martyr nor a mean girl. I loved rediscovering Abe's draconic magic through Lora's experiences, I loved placing the reality of transformation in the "modern" time period of the early 20th century. And though the love story in THE SWEETEST DARK isn't clean and simple, Abe gives nuance and depth to the messy passions of Lora, Mandy, and Jesse. Rather than villain versus hero, poor little rich boy versus a noble servant, both men are well developed characters shaped as much by their human passions as the magic of this world. Abe never divorces her characters' humanity from their actions, which means even the most charismatic person could become the villain, the force of darkness that breaks my heart.  She writes heroes and bad boys in a way that both enthralls and terrifies me, and I can't wait to see where Lora's next book takes me.

I'll admit, in the past I lost the thread of Abe's Drakon series, confused from book to book about where the fate of this secretive race was going. THE SWEETEST DARK wipes the slate clean, however, and focuses in on Lora in a way that has me recommitted to this world. Abe loses none of her poetry in this series, but this more focused YA series promises to draw me into the series more effectively than ever before. I finished THE SWEETEST DARK already anxious for book two, thank goodness I only have to wait until August to enjoy THE DEEPEST NIGHT.

Series

N/A

Similar Titles

Bitterblue by Kristen Cashore
Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe


Would you like to be reviewed on All Things Urban Fantasy? Request a Review

5 Responses to “Early Review: The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark #1) by Shana Abe”

    • Julia

      That’s the best compliment, Abigail, expecially considering how I hold your reviews as my gold standard!

  1. Angela

    Ooh. This is related to the Drakon series?

    At first when I saw that Abe had a new book I was excited, then I saw it was YA and was less excited. But if it’s related to the Drakon, I think I’m going to have to pick this up. Great review! :)

    • Julia

      Hi Angela! THE SWEETEST DARK is a few generations after the events in the Drakon series. So you’ll recognize some of the mythology (and see hints of Rue), but a lot has changed and been lost over the years. I really liked rediscoving the world in Lora’s time period, I can’t wait for book two!

  2. Alexa

    I didn’t know that this comes from a different series. I think it is interesting when authors take other series and weave them into something different. It seems this new version worked out really well for you and now I can’t wait to check this one out.

    Thanks for the great review :)