Early Review: Wake (Watersong #1) by Amanda Hocking

August 3, 2012 Review 0

*This title will be released on August 7, 2012*

Cover Photo by James Porto


(Watersong, #1)
by Amanda Hocking

Genre: Paranormal YA
Excerpt: Yes | Audio Clip: Yes
Book Trailer: Yes
Reviewed by: Abigail | Source: Publisher

  • Reading level: Ages 12 and up
  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin (August 7, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 1250008123
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250008121


Good – A fun read with minor flaws. Maybe read an excerpt before buying.

Sexual Content

Kissing. Mythological story with references to rape.


Fall under the spell of Wake—the first book in an achingly beautiful new series by celebrated author Amanda Hocking—and lose yourself to the Watersong.

Gorgeous. Fearless. Dangerous. They’re the kind of girls you envy; the kind of girls you want to hate. Strangers in town for the summer, Penn, Lexi and Thea have caught everyone’s attention—but it’s Gemma who’s attracted theirs.  She’s the one they’ve chosen to be part of their group.

Gemma seems to have it all—she’s carefree, pretty, and falling in love with Alex, the boy next door.  He’s always been just a friend, but this summer they’ve taken their relationship to the next level, and now there’s no going back.  Then one night, Gemma’s ordinary life changes forever.  She’s taking a late night swim under the stars when she finds Penn, Lexi and Thea partying on the cove.  They invite her to join them, and the next morning she wakes up on the beach feeling groggy and sick, knowing something is different.

Suddenly Gemma is stronger, faster, and more beautiful than ever. But her new powers come with a terrifying price.  And as she uncovers the truth, she’s is forced to choose between staying with those she loves—or entering a new world brimming with dark hungers and unimaginable secrets.

Check out an audio clip from WAKE


Self-published phenom Amanda Hocking launches her first traditionally published series with WAKE, book one in the Watersong series.  This times she sets her sights on beautiful but deadly sirens.

The general plot of WAKE reminded me a lot of The Lost Boys movie.  Single parent siblings living in a resort town.  One falls in with a mysterious and dangerous crowd, is unknowingly changed and harshly inducted into their world.  The other sibling notices changes and seeks out more knowledgeable friends to rescue said sibling and destroy the others.  Pretty familiar right?  Of course there there are numerous key differences that make the similarities fun instead of rehashed like the fact that it features sisters not brothers, sirens not vampires, and sources it’s mythology back to Poseidon. But WAKE could well be titled THE LOST GIRLS.

Aside from the plot, which I enjoyed, I was a little underwhelmed by the generic writing, especially in the beginning.  The POV jumps back and forth between the sisters without any visual indicators so at times I’d have to reread sections when I realized there’d been a switch.  Also, the plot takes awhile to get going so a lot of the early scenes drag.  Once the girls hone in on Gemma and the siren mythology comes into play, the pacing increased dramatically which made the writing issues less noticeable.

As the first in a planned series, WAKE doesn’t attempt to resolve it’s storyline by the end, rather it sets up the clear focus of the next book in the Watersong series which is titled LULLABY and will be published on November 27th 2012 by St. Martin’s Griffin.  I love stories that incorporate Greek Mythology, so I may be back for more.

Titles in Series

  1. Wake
  2. Lullaby
  3. Tidal
  4. Elegy

Similar Titles

Would you like to be reviewed on All Things Urban Fantasy? Request a Review

Comments are closed.