Review: Shadow’s Edge by J. T. Geissinger

June 16, 2012 Review 2 ★★★


cover art: N/A

Shadow’s Edge

(Night Prowler, #1)
by J. T. Geissinger

Genre: Paranormal Romance | Excerpt: No
Reviewed by: Julia | Source: Author

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Montlake Romance; June 12, 2012
  • ISBN-10: 161218331X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1612183312

Rating

Good – A fun read with minor flaws. Maybe read an excerpt before buying.

Sexual Content

Several sex scenes.

Description

Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Karen Marie Moning will be captivated by this edgy, sensual new paranormal series about an ancient dynasty of shape-shifters locked in a centuries-old battle for power, and the dangerous attraction between their leader and the woman who may be the downfall of them all.

Deep within the primeval forests of southern England, a race of beautiful, savage shape-shifters lives hidden from the everyday world. Bound together by ancient bloodlines and a ruthless code of secrecy that punishes traitors with death, the Ikati send their leader Leander on a mission to capture one raised outside the tribe before she can expose their secret. When Leander tracks the unsuspecting outsider to Southern California, the hardened warrior is prepared for a fight—but not for the effect the sensual young beauty has on his heart.

Jenna spent her childhood in hiding, on the run from someone—or something—her parents refused to discuss. She trusts no one, not since her father’s mysterious disappearance, not since her mother’s sudden death, and definitely not since she began exhibiting strange, superhuman abilities. When handsome, enigmatic Leander appears, promising answers to the mysteries that shroud her past, she knows she shouldn’t trust him either. But their connection is undeniable, and as powerful as the enemy hell-bent on destroying every one of their kind…

Book Trailer

N/A

Review

A concentrated dose of romantic fantasy and sexy threat, SHADOW’S EDGE blends an old school romance “backed into a corner” plot line into a more modern urban fantasy setting. Jenna Moore’s otherworldly gifts have always come at a price, first the breakup of her family, then a lifetime of secrecy, and finally imprisonment in a shapeshifter enclave. This give and take narrative kept me titillated and engaged and while the hero and heroine don’t hold many surprises, the supporting cast breaks a few molds.

Jenna and Leander are drawn to each other like magnets, and Geissinger allows Jenna’s silence to be the foil that keeps them apart rather than manufacturing fights. Though her actions were frustrating at times, the narrative gives Jenna plenty of reasons to resist assimilation into the Ikhet. This hidebound society cost Jenna her father, and even in present day it was believable that born Ikhet would rebel against the strictures that offer little hope. Reading SHADOW’S EDGE led to inevitable comparisons to Shana Abe’s THE SMOKE THIEF. Though Abe employed more poetry and politics, SHADOW’S EDGE puts an overtly sexy spin on things. Even with the fairly predictable main character dynamic, I loved Geissinger’s indomitable ladies and modern world. Morgan’s struggle is all the more poignant next to Jenna’s genetic gifts, and I would have liked more page time with this particular supporting character.

If SHADOW’S EDGE sets the stage, the rest of the series has some big questions to answer. Hinting at sweeping changes to come, I’m very interested to see how Jenna’s interactions with Ikhet society plays out the next few books. Familiar tropes got me this far into the series, but Jenna and Leander were too predictable to bring me back on their own.  I’ll be watching for more of Morgan, though, and I hope the other little background surprises get center stage in book two.

Similar Titles

 

2 Responses to “Review: Shadow’s Edge by J. T. Geissinger”

  1. Www.Youtube.com

    Greate post. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve performed an incredible job. I will definitely digg it and in my opinion recommend to my
    friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.