Early Review: Embrace of the Damned by Anya Bast

April 29, 2012 Review 2 ★★★

*This title will be released on May 1, 2012*



Embrace of the Damned (Brotherhood of the Damned, #1) Title: Embrace of the Damned
AuthorAnya Bast
Series: Brotherhood of the Damned #1
Cover Art: N/A
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Excerpt: Yes
Source: Publisher
Reviewed by: Abigail
  • Reading level: Ages 18 and up
  • Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley; Original edition (May 1, 2012)
  • ISBN-10: 0425247961
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425247969
buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery 

Sexual Content:
Scenes of sensuality. Graphic sex scenes

Rating:


Good – A fun read with minor flaws. Maybe read an excerpt before buying.


Description

A damned Viking warrior.
Centuries ago Broder Calderson committed murder. As punishment, he was given over to the dominion of Loki, the Trickster God, made part of the Brotherhood of the Damned and condemned to an immortal life of battle against the Blight, blood-drinkers from Hel.

A mysterious woman he can’t resist.
One thousand years to the day he was damned, Loki allows him a woman as reward for his good service and repentance of his crimes. Once Broder sees Jessamine Hamilton, he is overcome with need. But Jessa is no ordinary woman, and the truth of who—and what—she is could have dangerous consequences.

A tormented man she can’t deny.
Though a future together is impossible, the warrior’s touch ignites an irresistible passion in Jessa. But every heated kiss pushes them closer to destruction. Forced to return to the brutality of his Viking past to protect her, will Broder surrender forever to his darkest impulses?


Review

EMBRACE OF THE DAMNED, the first book in Anya Bast’s new Brotherhood of the Damned paranormal romance series is like a cross between the movie Thor and Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series.  A brotherhood of cursed immortals who wage war against a demonic enemy, are denied the release of death and the pleasures of life.  The god pulling their stings is the Trickster Loki, a capricious deity who punishes and rewards at his whim.  His latest reward comes in the form of a woman, the only one granted to the warrior Broder in a thousand years.

In typical romance novel form, attraction is the driving force behind the relationship for the first half of the book.  When it inevitably gives way to love, it’s a little hard to see why, particularly in Broder’s case. Yes, he’s been magically celibate for a millennia, but Jessa hardly seems deserving of him.  She may be the biggest tease I’ve read in a long time.  She lets Broder touch and satisfy her time and again only to cry ‘stop’ the second before he shifts to his own release.  Her reasoning feels flimsy at best and downright cruel at worst.  Broder displays way to much understanding for her hot and cold mood swings, and really should have ‘returned his gift unopened’ to Loki in my opinion.

Despite my dislike of Jessa, Broder and the rest of the Brotherhood were more than enough to compensate for her shortcomings.  Tortured Viking heroes, cursed in different ways, they each revealed slivers of their personalities that has me very excited and hopeful that they will find more worthy matches than Broder in upcoming Brotherhood of the Damned books. Fans of Kresley Cole, Gena Showalter, J.R. Ward, and Larissa Ione should flock to this steamy new series.

Books in Series

Also Reviewed By

Similar Titles
  • N/A
  • N/A

2 Responses to “Early Review: Embrace of the Damned by Anya Bast”